Politics Sat, 21 Nov 2009

Abetifi Constituency NDC elects 17-member executive

Pepease (E/R), Nov. 21, GNA - The Abetifi Constituency of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), on Friday elected a 17-member executive to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years at its delegates' conference at Pepease. Mr Hayford Quaye polled 190 votes to defeat the incumbent chairman, Mr Charles Asante Gyimah, who had three votes.

The position of Vice Chairman went to Mr Francis Otim, while Mr Garson Hafianyo was elected Secretary with Mr Joseph Kwakye as assistant Secretary. Mr Addo Agyei was elected the constituency Organiser, while Mr Umaro Abubakar was elected Treasurer with the position of Propaganda Secretary, Youth Organizer and the Women Organizer going to Nana K. Asante, Mark Oliver Kevor and Georgina Gador

respectively. Addressing the delegates, the Eastern Regional Organizer of the party, Mr Bismark

Tawiah Boateng, commended supporters of the party for their unflinching support for the

party during its eight years in opposition. He advised the elected executive to visit the branches and wards to intensify their

campaign for the party to win the constituency parliamentary and presidential elections in

2012. Mr Tawiah Boateng called for co-operation and unity among the supporters of the party

and to intensify their mobilization drive to win more people to join the party for them to retain

power for a longer period. The Former Minister of Interior, Colonel (Retired) Emmanuel Osei Owusu, advised the

elected executive and the losers to bury their differences and unite to enable them to win the

constituency parliamentary seat in 2012.

Source: GNA