Politics Mon, 18 Aug 2014

Click for Market Deals →

Alan chairmen declare for Akufo-Addo

Five National Council Members of the party in the Ashanti region, who will also vote in the August 31 Special Electoral College, have pledged their support for Nana Akufo-Addo.

Hon. Kwame Osei Prempeh, who spoke on behalf of the members of the Council, namely, Dr. Kwame Amoako-Tuffuor, Mrs Janet Anane, Hon. Maxwell Kofi Jumah and Mr. Yaw Amankwah, publicly indicated to the gathering that Nana Akufo-Addo was the candidate they will be voting for because he had, over the years, showed great loyalty to the party and is the choice of the grassroots.

Meanwhile, three constituency chairmen of the New Patriotic Party in the Ashanti Region, who were formally staunch supporters of Alan Kyerematen, have openly declared their support for Nana Akufo-Addo ahead of the party's presidential primary.

They are Chairman of the Fomena constituency, Mr. Kwasi Nti; Mr. Asare Bediako, Chairman of Asokwa, who doubles as the "Chairman of Chairmen" in the Ashanti Region; and Mr. George Kofi Agyei, aka "Geo Kad," Chairman of the Nhyiaeso constituency.

Beginning the declaration of support, Mr. Kwasi Nti explained to the delegates that he has never supported Nana Akufo-Addo, stating emphatically that "in 2010, I did not vote for him."

However, he explained that the reasons that have informed his decision to support Nana Akufo-Addo included the fact that "Nana Akufo-Addo is the choice of Ghanaians and the grassroots" stating categorically that, "Nana Akufo-Addo has already won the presidential primary."

It is recalled that, in the 2010 presidential primary of the party, Nana Akufo-Addo won in all but one constituency in the Ashanti Region, the Nhyiaeso constituency.

The Chairman responsible for this feat, Chairman George Kofi Agyei, indicated to the gathering that he is working for Nana Akufo-Addo and will rectify the anomaly of 2010, and ensure that Nana Akufo-Addo wins in all constituencies in the Ashanti Region in the October 18 presidential primary.

"It is clear the grassroots want Nana Akufo-Addo. Everywhere we go, everyone says 'No Nana No Vote', so who am I to go against the will of the people?" he asked rhetorically.

Chairman Asare Bediako, flanked by all 47 constituency chairmen in the Ashanti Region, appealed for unity in the party, adding that "if the NPP does not win the 2016 election, Ghana is doomed." He also went on to say that, in his assessment, Nana Akufo-Addo was likely to win and that he had told each of the other contestants, who had visited him, that Nana Akufo-Addo was going to win the primary. He, therefore, decided to throw his support behind Nana.

Against this background, and speaking on behalf of all 47 chairmen, he pledged their unflinching support for Nana Akufo-Addo, promising a landslide victory in the region for him.

Source: Peace FM

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter