Ashanti NDC retains Obimpeh as Chairman

Thu, 13 Nov 2014 Source: GNA

Mr. Yaw Owusu Obimpeh, Ashanti Regional Chairman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), was on Tuesday re-elected for another four-year term, at a Delegates’ Conference held at the Youth Centre in Kumasi.

He polled 244 votes, while Mr. Thomas K. Braimah and Mr. Dominic Anomah, his two contestants, had 169 and four votes respectively, in an election supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC).

The conference saw more than 400 delegates casting their ballots to elect new executives to steer affairs of the party.

Other executives elected included Mr. Augustine Andrews, First Vice-Chairman, Mr. Attivor Sawyer, Second Vice-Chairman, Mr. Raymond Tandor, Secretary, Mr. Kwame Zu, Deputy Secretary, Alhaji Sani Junior, Organizer, and Mr. Isham Alhassan, Deputy Organizer.

The rest were Alhaji Ibrahim Justice, Treasurer, Ms. Ama Ramsion, Deputy Treasurer, Mr. Samed Akalilu, Propaganda Secretary, and Mr. Solomon Anane, Deputy Propaganda Secretary.

Mr. Johnson Asiedu-Nketia, General-Secretary of the NDC, tasked the newly-elected executives to close their ranks, work within the party’s rules and regulations, in order to achieve set objectives.

They should not relegate to the background the losing candidates in the discharge of their duties to enhance unity of purpose in the party, he cautioned.

The General-Secretary described the Region as one of the strategic electoral areas of the party, and said the party would not relent in its efforts to poll as many votes as possible to ensure a landslide victory in the 2016 General Election.

Mr. Obimpeh lauded the delegates for the confidence reposed in the newly-elected executives, saying they had resolved to work assiduously to meet the expectations of all party members.

“I am pleading with all and sundry to be supportive of the new executives, as we discharge our duties with commitment and dedication,” he said.

Source: GNA

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.