Politics Sat, 21 Jan 2012

Ashanti NDC three sitting MPs receive nod to contest polls

Kumasi, Jan. 21, GNA – All three sitting Members of Parliament (MPs) of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Ashanti Region have received the nod to contest this year’s parliamentary election on the party’s ticket.

Alhaji Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak, MP for Asawasi, polled 254 votes to beat off the challenge by his only contestant, Moghtar Annis Mohayideen, who got 189 votes.

At Ejura, incumbent Alhaji Mohammed Issifu Pungabu, won 254 votes out of 429 cast, to defeat four other contestants, Peter Boakye-Ansah, former MP and District Chief Executive (DCE) for the area, who had seven votes, Emmanuel Badu, 84 votes, Paul Kombat Suuk, 69 votes, and Charles Antwi-Kyeremeh, 15 votes.

Delegates in the New Edubiase Constituency endorsed the MP, Mr Ernest Kofi Yakah’s re-election bid with 259 votes as against his challenger, Oheneba Kwabena Andoh’s 116 votes.

Elections in the three constituencies were supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC) and peaceful.

On hand to observe, were top party and government officials and running through their messages was the need for party unity and team work.

The Ashanti Regional Chairman of the NDC, Mr Yaw Owusu-Obimpeh, expressed satisfaction with the maturity and peace that characterized the polls and urged the party members and supporters to work together for victory in the December general election.

Source: GNA