Politics Mon, 12 Jul 2010

Eight executive members of Tema West CPP resign

Tema, July 12, GNA - Eight executive members of the Tema West Constituency of the Convention People's Party (CPP) have resigned from their various positions with immediate effect. The officers are Mr Daniel Essel, Chairman; Mr John Haizel Kobbina, First Vice Chairman; Mr Idris Hassan, Second Vice Chairman and Mr J.D.K. Abakah, Secretary.

The rest are J.Y. Mensah, Assistant Secretary; Ms Olivia Hammond, Women's Organiser; Ms Rosaline Efe Dannis, Youth Organiser and Mr Kwasi Gyedu Yeboah, Education Secretary.


In their resignation letter dated July 8, sent to the Regional Chairperson of the Party and copied to the General Secretary, the Tema West Constituency of the party and the media, the officers alleged that their decision was due to the fact that some members within the constituency had formed a club with the blessing of both the Regional Secretariat and the National Headquarters of the party. They contended that the action of these members would rather divide the ranks of members than foster unity among them, adding; "This has undoubtedly been a set back to the progress of the party. "We cannot preside over a divided house at this moment of the trials and tribulations of the CPP, but to resign," they declared.

Source: GNA