Politics Fri, 29 Sep 2006

Five women elected to Birim South Assembly

Akyem Oda, Sept. 29, GNA - Five out of 17 women were elected in the Birim South District Assembly elections. They included Ms Rebecca C. Asare, re-elected for Akyem Akroso New Town, Ms Margaret Mensah for Amantem Nkwanta, Miss Augustina Sekyere, for Nsenaa Oda, Miss Oforiwaa Christable for Petenyinase Manso and Miss Janet Korankyewa for Awisa West Asene electoral areas. Mr John Appiah Baffoe, Birim South District Electoral Officer, speaking to the Ghana News Agency said 12 former assembly members retained their seats. He said the voter turnout was 48.2 per cent and commended Mr Frank Kwame Busumtwi, Birim South District Chief Executive and the security agencies for the smooth and peaceful elections.


Source: GNA