Jaman South District Assembly fails to elect PM

Sat, 31 Oct 2015 Source: GNA

The 58-member Jaman South District Assembly, on Friday failed to elect a Presiding Member (PM) after three rounds of voting.

None of the contestants, Mr Adinkra Kosopre, the Berekum Municipal Director of the National Commission (NCCE), and Mr Anthony Tabiri, Assemblyman of Kwadwo Badukrom Electoral area was able to obtain the two thirds of the required votes of the house.

Mr Kosopre, who is a government appointee, secured 35 votes, whilst his contender Mr Tabiri had 18 votes in all the three rounds of voting in the election conducted and supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission (EC) at Drobo.

Five of the assembly members were absent.

Madam Dora Tamea, the Jaman South District Chief Executive said she was disappointed with the assembly members, noting that, the house failure to elect a PM was a big blow to the assembly.

She said until the assembly members buried their personal interest, development would not progress in the district.

Madam Tamea emphasized that the assembly members had not only disappointed their constituents, but failed the entire district.

She advised the assembly members to unite and contribute meaningfully to the development of the district.

Mr Kwame Siegfried Addo, the Jaman South District Coordinating Director, explained a circular received from the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development mandates the house to elect a PM by simple majority to preside at meetings upon the assembly’s failure to elect a substantive PM.

Source: GNA