NDC Communications Officer lauds delegates for a peaceful congress

Tue, 4 Sep 2018 Source: ghananewsagency.org

Mr. Raphael Apetorgbor, Deputy Communications Officer, Anyaa-Sowutuom Constituency branch of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), has lauded delegates of the just ended Greater Accra Regional Ninth Delegates Conference of the Party for a peaceful congress.

He said delegates, candidates and their campaign teams deserved commendation for the peaceful manner in which they conducted themselves; adding that, this was a plus for Ghana’s democratic credentials.

Mr. Apetorgbor, who gave the commendation in an interview with the Ghana News Agency in Accra, also hailed all the losing candidates for gracefully accepting defeat.

He also congratulated Mr. Joseph Kobina Ade Coker for retaining his Chairmanship, and for extending the olive branch to the losing candidates.

Mr. Apetorgbor urged the leadership of the NDC in the Region to come together as one people in prosecuting the agenda of the Party.

He also appealed to the Party leadership to regalvanise the Party at the grassroots to work towards victory in election 2020.

The Officers elected at the Greater Accra Regional Conference of the NDC included: Mr. Joseph Kobina Ade Coker, Chairman; Mr. William Vinyo, first Vice Chairman; Mr. Ibrahim Jajah, second Vice Chairman; Mr. Theophilus Tetteh Chaie, Secretary; and Madam Patricia Naa Akuyea Addy, Deputy Regional Secretary.

Others were Mr. Anthony Nukpenu, Regional Organiser; Gambo Abdulai Zam-Atu, Deputy Organiser; Madam Regina Samiratu Akunkel, Treasurer; and Mr. Mohammed Morgan, Deputy Treasurer.

The rest were Mr. Jerry Johnson, Communications Officer; Mr. Simon Kweku Tetteh, Deputy Communications Officer; and Mr. Ismaila Horoya Zongo Caucus Coordinator.

Prior to the NDC Greater Accra Regional Delegate Conference, Madam Felicia Mekoi Bortey and Mr Mustapha Ashong were respectively elected as Women’s and Youth Organisers at the conference.

However, the elections of two deputies each for both the Women’s Organizer and the Youth Organizer, were annulled by the NDC’s Functional National Executive Committee due to lapses in voting procedures.

Source: ghananewsagency.org