NDC ready for congress, governance – Alex Segbefia

Video Archive
Fri, 16 Nov 2018 Source: dailyguideafrica.com

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) says it is ready for its scheduled national delegates congress to elect national executives come Saturday, November 17, 2018.

The congress will elect a National Chairman, National Vice Chairman, General Secretary, Deputy General Secretary, National Organizer and Deputy National Organizer.

Other positions are a National Communications Officer, Deputy Communications Officer, National Executive Committee Member and National Zongo Caucus Coordinator.

In all 65 individuals are contesting the posts, with the contest for Deputy General Secretary drawing the largest contestants of 11, while the contests for General Secretary and National Communications Officer with two candidates each, drew the least number of contestants.

Briefing the media Thursday evening at the Trade Fair Centre, La, Accra, venue of Saturday’s congress, a member of the NDC 2018 congress planning committee, Mr. Alex Segbefia said the party was not only ready to hold congress but ready to take over governance from the New Patriotic Party.

He said with the congress only two days away, all was set for the election of party officers to lead it into the 2020 elections and to take over governance from the NPP.

“We are ready for government now. We realize there is a lot going on that is wrong and the NDC has been vindicated across all fronts, in terms of what we said was happening in the country and what has to be done and how we were governing, And so if you gave us government tomorrow, we will know what to do. We know for a fact that we will go through the process and we thank God, sometimes it’s a funny thing to say, for the opportunity for Ghanaians to make a comparison, the comparison has already been made. We are ready and we know that we are coming into government again in 2020. But we are not going to point fingers, we are going to be magnanimous in the defeat of the NPP when 2020 comes. Our focus is to make sure Ghana moves on to become bigger, better and greater than it ever was and that is what we are planning for come 2020.”

On the congress itself, he said only accredited people who will be required to go through a registration process would be allowed to take part in the congress.

He said there will also be designated accreditation to differentiate various media to enable them do their work and entreated all to arrive early on Saturday to be able to go through the registration process.

Some 9,000 delegates are expected to elect the national officers, with the entire congress attendance estimated at 13,000 people.

The immediate environs of the Trade Fair as well as the inner perimeter are awash with banners and posters bearing photographs and campaign messages of the contestants. Banners of many more were still being hoisted at vantage points.

Below is the list of candidates contesting the various national office positions.

National Chairman

Dan Abodakpi

Betty Mould Iddrisu

Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo

Alhaji Huudu Yahaya

Danny Annang

National Vice Chairman

Alhaji Amadu Bukari Sorogho

Said Sinare

Lawyer Adu- Yeboah

Sherry Ayittey

Yaw Owusu Obimpeh

Alhaji Sumaila Mahama

Dr Kwame Ampofo

Awudu S. Azorka

Seth Ofosu-Ohene

General Secretary

Johnson Asiedu Nketiah

Samuel Koku Sitsofo Anyidoho

Deputy General Secretary

Alhaji Nuru Hamidan

Barbara Serwaa Asamoah

Peter Boamah Otokonor

David Kwaku Worwui-Brown

Kojo Adu Asare

George Lawson

Abdullah Ishaq Farrakhan

Nii Dodoo Dodoo

Kale Cezar

Ephram Nii Tan Sackey

Evans Amoo

National Organizer

Mahdi Gibrill

Akamba Joshua Hamidu

Jemima Anita De- Sosoo

Yaw Boateng Gyan

Baba Jamal Ahmed

Enoch Amoako- Nsiah

Solomon Yaw Nkansah

National Deputy Organizer

Dr Alhassan Hanifa

Kobby Barlon

Vivian Abla Kpeglo

Mohammed Mamudu

Agbesi Nutsu

Chief Hamilton Biney Nixon

Alfred Kojo Triddles

Ebenezer Asare Sackitey

Ahmed Gedel

National Communications Officer

Fred Agbenyo

Sammy Gyamfi

Deputy Communications Officer

Godwin Ako Gunn

Mahama Seidu Samuel

Kwaku Boahen

Alhaji Mohammed Nasiru Seidu

Adongo Atule Jacob

Muhammed Nurullah Iddrisu

National Executive Committee Member

Mohammed Mashood Alhaji

Alhaji Babanlame Abu Sadat

Sheriff Abudul Nasiru

Ebenezer Effah Hackman

Eliyasu Amadu

Alhaji Adramani Haribu

William Wilson Agbleke

Evelyn Enyonam Mensah

National Zongo Caucus Coordinator

Ismail Bawa

Alhaji Mamah Mohammed

Sadiku Sulley

Baba Ibrahim Mohammed

Abdul-Aziz Mohammmed

Abass Fuseini Sbaabe

Source: dailyguideafrica.com
Related Articles: