Politics Sun, 30 Mar 2008

Click to read all about coronavirus →

NDC retains incumbent MPs in Tamale Central and North

Tamale, March 30, GNA- Mr Inusah Fuseini, incumbent Tamale Central Member of Parliament retained his position as the parliamentary candidate of the NDC at the constituency primaries when he beat his contestant Mr Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed with 143 votes to 55 votes. The defeated parliamentary aspirant is a student activist and president of the All African Students Union. The election, which was held in a peaceful atmosphere was conducted by the Electoral Commission and was well attended by NDC faithful and constituency delegates.

Alhaji Yakubu Sumani, incumbent Tamale North Member of Parliament was also retained after he beat Mr Mohammed Alhassan Sorogu, a journalist, with 130 votes as against 61 votes. In the Kumbungu constituency primaries, Alhaji Imoro Kakpaya beat two others, Mr John Mahama Yabour and Mr Issah Salifu. He polled 122 votes as against 25 and 10 respectively. In the Savelugu constituency primaries, Madam Mary Boforo also beat her two opponents, Mohammed Guny and Ziblim Yakubu with 125 votes to 54 and four votes respectively.

Alhaji Sumani in his post-election address urged the party faithful to remain united and work hard to ensure the victory of the NDC in the presidential and parliamentary elections this December.

Source: GNA

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.