Sulemana Ibn Sa-eed wins NPP Karaga primary

Karaga NPP Polling Station Karaga District Electoral Commissioner counts votes.

Sat, 17 Sep 2016 Source: 3news.com

Sulemana Ibn Sa-eed has been declared by the Karaga District Electoral Commissioner, Samuel Quah, as the winner of the New Patriotic Party’s parliamentary primary for Karaga constituency.

He polled two hundred and eight (208) to beat two others in Saturday’s primary at Karaga District of the Northern Region. He will replace Shaharawi Bashiru who resigned on health grounds as the NPP parliamentary candidate for the constituency.

His closest contender, a former District Chief Executive during the erstwhile John Kufuor’s administration Baba Wahab had one hundred and sixty-eight (168) votes. Fidaus Basha could only manage twenty-eight (28) votes.

The total vote cast was four hundred and four (404) and two spoilt ballots.

Thirty eight (38) did not participate in the exercise. The elections commenced at about 10:00am Saturday September 17, 2016 and ended at 3:10pm.

Dr Sulemana Ibn Sa-eed in his acceptance address urged supporters to rekindle the oneness of the party to win the Karaga parliamentary seat which is being occupied by the National Democratic Congress’s Alhassan Sualisu Dandawa.

There were fears of a possible clash among supporters of the candidates but the election ended uneventfully.

Source: 3news.com