GhanaWeb TV




Towards election 2020: NDC picks national executives

NDC Picks NDC National executives aspirants

Wed, 14 Nov 2018 Source:

Barring any last-minute hitches, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) is expected to throng the Trade Fair Centre in Accra this weekend to elect its national executives to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

The party has already elected its National Youth Organizer and deputies, as well as Women organizer and her deputies.

Former Deputy Minister of Food and Agriculture, Dr. Hanna Louisa Bissiw, was elected NDC’s National Women’s Organizer in an on October 27, 2018 election.

Two other persons-Maame Efua and Abigail Elorm were elected deputy women’s organizers.

The exercise held in the Central Region, also saw the election of former Municipal Chief Executive of Akuapem North, George Opare Addo, as the National Youth Organizer of the party while Edem Agbana and Ruth Dela emerged as deputy national youth organizers.

So far 66 people are vying for various national executive positions on Saturday.


For the National Chairman, former Attorney-General, Betty Mould Iddrisu is battling the seat with party giants such as Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo, Alhaji Huudu Yahaya, Danny Annang and Dan Abodakpi, a former Minister of Trade and Industry.

The National Vice Chairman position has party bigwigs as Alhaji Amadu Bukari Sorogho, Said Sinare, Lawyer Adu- Yeboah, Sherry Ayittey, Yaw Owusu Obimpeh, Alhaji Sumaila Mahama, Dr Kwame Ampofo, Awudu S. Asorka and Seth Ofosu-Ohene.

Incumbent General Secretary and plain talker Johnson Asiedu Nketiah would slug it out with Samuel Koku Sitsofo Anyidoho, former Aide to late President J.E.A Mills.

Alhaji Nuru Hamidan, Barbara Serwaa Asamoah, Peter Boamah Otokonor, David Kwaku Worwui-Brown, Kojo Adu Asare, a former MP for Adenta and a former Presidential Staffer, George Lawson, Abdullah Ishaq Farrakhan, Nii Dodoo Dodoo, Kale Cezar, Ephram Nii Tan Sackey and Evans Amoo race for the Deputy General Secretary slot.

Mahdi Gibrill, Akamba Joshua Hamidu, firebrand Jemima Anita De- Sosoo, Yaw Boateng Gyan, former MP for Akwatia Baba Jamal Ahmed, Enoch Amoako- Nsiah and Solomon Yaw Nkansah go for the National Organizer while Fred Agbenyo and Sammy Gyamfi contest the position of Communications Officer.

Other positions up for grabs include National Deputy Organizer, Deputy Communications Officer, NEC and Zongo Caucus.


Even before the first vote would be cast, party chiefs are already trading accusations at each other

A retiring National Treasurer of party Alhaji Abdullah Ahmed recently descended Asiedu Nketia whom he described as being a dictator.

According to him, Asiedu Nketia is destroying the NDC with some of his actions.

He said Asiedu Nketia does not also heed to advice, adding that the party’s National Chairman, Kofi Portuphy, is even unable to control him and his cohorts.

Aseidu Nketia in a rebuttal also rejected claims he is to blame for the party’s defeat dropping the blame at the doorsteps of new executives the party elected in 2014.

According to him, the party has been winning elections since he was elected in 2005, but they dropped after a particular group of executives were brought on board in 2014.

Related Articles: