Regional News Sat, 24 Aug 2013

Gov’t inaugurates committee on Technical Universities

Government has inaugurated an eight member Technical Committee to work out modalities and plans towards implementation of President John Mahama’s pledge to convert Polytechnics into Technical Universities.

Deputy Minister in charge of Tertiary Education Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa inaugurated the committee on behalf of the Minister of Education, Prof. Naana Jane Opoku­?Agyemang on Friday the 23rd of August, 2013 at the Ministry of Education.

The Technical Committee is chaired by Dr. George Afeti of the National Inspectorate Board and a former Rector of Ho Polytechnic.

The other members are Dr. J.A.C. Combey (Rtd.) representing the Association of Ghana Industries (AGI), Dr. J.V.K. Afun, President of the Conference of Rectors of Polytechnics (CORP) and Rector of Ho Polytechnic, Prof. G.K.S. Aflakpui, Rector of Wa Polytechnic, Kwame Dattey of the National Accreditation Board (NAB), Dr. Albert Sunny of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST),Divina Nkwatabisa representing the Attorney General’s Department and Prof. Mahama Duwiejua, Executive Secretary of the National Council for Tertiary Education (NCTE).

Mr. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa thanked the members of the Committee for accepting to undertake this noble assignment which he described as very dear to His Excellency the President.

He appealed to them to make far reaching recommendations, which will stand the test of time and ultimately be in Ghana’s development interest.

He added that Polytechnic education ought not be regarded as second option and stressed that the practical technical education which our polytechnics offer has a special place in the President’s development vision for Ghana.

Polytechnics were upgraded to tertiary institutions in 1992 by the Polytechnic Law (PNDCL 32).

The Polytechnic Act, 2007 (Act 745) which repealed the Polytechnic Law, 1992, mandates polytechnics to;

a) Provide tertiary education in the fields of manufacturing, commerce, science technology, applied social science, applied arts and any other fields approved by the Minister and;

b) Provide opportunities for skills development, and applied research publication of research findings.

Speaking on behalf of his colleagues, Dr. George Afeti thanked the Government for the honour to serve their country in yet another capacity and promised to do an excellent job.

The Committee has up to September 30 to complete its work.

Source: Education Ministry