Regional News Tue, 24 Jul 2007

Mineworkers Union elects new officers

Accra, July 24, GNA - Ghana Mine Workers Union has elected new national officers with Mr John K. Brimpong heading the new executive as National Chairperson.

A statement released by the Union on Tuesday said Mr Stephen Pagfu was elected First National Chairperson, Ms Theresa Obosu, Second National Vice Chairperson and Mr Prince William Ankrah, General Secretary. Others are: Mr Eric K.Gyima, Deputy General Secretary, Mr Nicholas Yeboah, First National Trustee, Mr Ernest Kofi Arhin, Second National Trustee and Mr Francis Quansah, Porter and Chaplain.


The elections were held at the end of their delegates' conference, which ended last Friday in Accra. The National Women's Committee comprises Madam Felicia Asiedu, Chairperson, Madam Felicia Addo, Vice Chairperson, Madam Betty Aidoo, Secretary and Madam Josephine Frimpong, Assistant Secretary.

Source: GNA