Regional News Tue, 6 Jan 2004

NDC Party members defect to NPP

Krabokese (E/R), Jan. 6, GNA - Hundred and sixty members of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Suhum Kraboa Coaltar District of the Eastern Region at the weekend defected to the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP).

The defectors from four farming communities of Krabokese, Amaadikrom, Nfrantah and Bekoekrom, announced their decision during an annual reception organised by the NPP at Krabokese in the Ayensuano constituency.

The leader of the group, Mr Emmanuel Yeboa Anoful NDC constituency chairman for Krabokese said their decision to join the NPP was borne out of the successful implementation of the mass cocoa spraying exercise initiated by the government.

Mr Yeboa Anoful said through the exercise our cocoa crops have increased in production and we can now pay the school fees of our children, whiles our standards of living have improved dramatically. Mr Emmanuel Dartey, chairman for Ayensuano constituency, who organised the reception called on the party members and the newcomers to refrain from anti-social practices that tend to undermine the country's democratic process.


Mr Dartey said political power is like a farmer, who had been offered a sharp cutlass, if he is a wise man he would use the cutlass to increase food production to feed the people and export some to earn foreign exchange for himself and the country as whole but a fool would use the cutlass to destroy human lives and properties.

Mr Godfred Okyere, Member of Parliament for Ayensuano constituency, who chaired the function called on party members to collaborate with the defectors to win more converts.

He appealed to his constituents to register in their numbers during the forthcoming voter registration exercise.

Source: GNA