Prestea MP pledges additional cocoa centre for farmers

Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources in Charge of Mines, Lawyer Barbara Oteng-Gyasi

Wed, 12 Dec 2018 Source: Daniel Kaku

Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources in Charge of Mines, Lawyer Barbara Oteng-Gyasi has hinted that, her outfit is working to secure another Cocoa Centre for the Prestea Huni-valley Municipality.

The minister who doubles as Member of Parliament for the area made the pronouncement during the 34th Farmers' Day celebration held at Peteporm in Bogoso.

She added, the initiative would reduce transportation inconveniences cocoa farmers go through

“I am working to get additional Cocoa centre at Prestea, to solve the challenges farmers go through accessing chemicals and fertilisers from Cocoa Offices. she affirmed

Madam Oteng-Adjei said she has provided 50 spraying machines to farmers for spraying, pruning and also to embark on the cocoa seedling project at Nsuaem.

According to her, farmers are experiencing bumper harvest as a result of consistent investment by government.

Stressing on welfare of farmers, Lawyer Oteng-Gyasi said government is considering pension scheme for cocoa farmers promised during campaign”.

Below is the full list of 2018 Award Winners

1. Best Municipal Farmer - Mr. Samuel William Derby

2. 1st Runner Up - Rev. Richard Benzo

3. 2nd Runner Up - Mr. Benjamin Odoom

4. Municipal Best Agric. Ext.Officer - Mr. C.O Amoako

5. Municipal Best Fish Farmer - Mr. Isaac Gyetuah

6. Municipal Best Livestock Farmer - Mr. Atsu Adi

7. Municipal Best Disabled Farmer - Mr. Kwaku Manu

8. Municipal Best Cocoa Farmer - Nana Kwabena Ntiako

9. Municipal Best Female Farmer - Mrs. Janeth Botha

10. Municipal Best Vegetable Farmer - Mr. Kwame Nyame

11. Municipal Best Oil Palm Farmer - Mrs. Victoria Bassanyin

12. Municipal Best Youth Farmer - Mr. Anthony Asamoah

The winner was presented with Aboboya tricycle, bycycle, full piece of kete cloth, over 10 bags of fertilizers, 5 wheel barrows, 5 spraying machines, 2 packet of roofing sheets, 1 box of cutlass, and cash prize of GHc 1,000 from the MP.

The other winners received appreciable prizes.

Special MP Award

Nana Kwaku Appiah III, Chief of Paterporm awarded with citation for generaously donating vast land to the Municipality for construction of Municipal Hospital, and Municipal Assembly Complex and many more.

Radio Stations recognised with citation for having programme dedicated to farmers include;

1. Appolo FM, Bawdie

2. Pure FM, Tarkwa

3. Trinity FM, Bogoso.

Farmers’ Day was instituted by the PNDC Government of Ghana in 1985 in recognition of the vital role farmers and fishers play in the economy especially the highly commendable output of farmers and fishermen in 1984, (about 30% growth), after the bad agricultural years of 1982 and 1983 (MOFA, 2010).

Other dignatories who graced the occation include; Hon. Mozart K. Owuh, MCE, Prestea Huni-Valley, Nana Nteboah Prah IV, Chief of Hman-Prestea, Nana Kwasi Sompre, Chief of Bogoso, Mr. Gabriel Adjargo, Municipal Agric Director, Mr. Abiam Danso, NPP Prestea Huni-Valley Chairman, Mr. Abdul Razak, Goldfields Ghana, Mr. Robert Gyenfi, Golden Star Bogoso/Prestea Ltd, Mr. Abutiate, Fiaseman Rural Bank, Mr. John Enamil, Immediate Past Municipal Best Farmer, Supt. Adjei-Nimo, Prestea District Police Commander, Ins. Berko, Bogoso Police Unit, Hon. Emmanuel Ennor Arthur, 2nd Vice Constituency Chairman, Hon. Francis Abeiku Yankah (Big Abbey), NADMO Director, over 32 Assembly Members, Staff of Assembly, the Media, and close to 1000 farmers from Prestea Huni-Valley Municipality.

Source: Daniel Kaku

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.