Regional News Fri, 21 Dec 2018

Savelugu Municipal Assembly holds third ordinary meeting in Savelugu

The Savelugu Municipality Assembly in the Northern Region has held its third ordinary meeting of the fifth session of the sixth assembly to deliberate on issues of development in the area.

The meeting brought together Assemblymen and women, Assembly's staff and the Media.

In his welcome address, the Presiding Member of the Assembly, Hon Mukaila A. Yakubu thanked members of the Assembly for their immense contribution in the Assembly’s business, added that the zeal upon which Assembly members are discharging their duties is worthy of recommendation.

Hon Mukaila implored members of the Assembly to do more by coming out with ideas that will accelerate development in the Municipality.

In her sessional address, the Municipal Chief Executive of Savelugu, Hon Hajia Ayishetu Seidu commended members of the Assembly for their corporation and immense support in ensuring that the Assembly chalked some success in most prioritized areas. “This sense of satisfaction and fulfilment stems from the fact that in spite of the challenges in electing a Presiding member which affected convening of Assembly meetings, we still have succeeded in holding the three (3) mandatory Assembly meetings for this year”.

Hon Hajia Ayishetu said the Assembly has been able to collect only 60% of the estimated revenue for 2018, adding that, with the formation of a revenue task force the Assembly is likely to make appreciable progress at the end of the year.

She commended the revenue task force for working very hard to ensure that the Assembly reach its revenue mobilization target at the end of the year.

The MCE for Savelugu noted that, the Assembly is working very assiduously to provide the needed development in the area, saying that, Assembly has since started its new projects including; construction of fence wall at the Savelugu School for the Deaf, construction of Rural Technology Facility (RTF), construction of dams at Dikpili and Tiglaa under one village one dam and construction of 7 ultra-modern public WC toilets by Ghana First Company Limited.

“It should be noted that these projects are not financed from the Assembly’s resources and are not awarded by the Assembly. In the case of the fence wall at Savelugu School for the Deaf, I submitted request and justifications to the Administrator of District Assemblies’ Common Fund and made follow-ups for its construction. It has been approved and awarded from the Regional Coordinating Council,” she emphasized

Hon Ayishetu said, the executive committee of the Assembly at its meeting came up with some development initiatives and recommendations including; relocation of the animals market, construction of urinals in all markets, office for the Presiding Member, repair all grounded Assembly vehicles, operationalize the Diare police station, construction of speed ramps and zebra crossing markings on portions of the main trunk road passing through the Municipality and installation of street lights along Tamale-Bolgatanga trunk road from the police station to Savelugu School for the Deaf.

Again, the Executive Committee recommended that the Assembly should liaise with traditional authorities in the demarcation of lands to ensure that public places like schools, markets, cemeteries and others are taken care of.

The Savelugu MCE use the occasion to caution road users about the dangers of the road, especially during this festive season. “Hon Assembly members we are in the festive period now. A lot of accidents occur during this period. I want to use this occasion to appeal to you to help caution our people especially the youth. People should be caution on the roads. We should all observe road traffic regulations and be patient and respect other road users to reduce the unnecessary and avoidable road accidents which claim a lot of lives and destroy properties”.

Members of the Assembly through deliberations accepted all the recommendation made by the Executive Committee.

A Public Relation and Complains Committee was formed to help in the dissemination of information and feedbacks.

The newly formed committee members include Hon Iddrisu Abdul Fatawu, Hon Haruna Issah, Hon Syllas Abukari, Hon Abdulai Iddrisu and Hon Alima Alidu.

The Coordinating Director of the Assembly, Mr. Ivan Gum said, the Public Relation and Complains Committee and other committees will be inaugurated in January to begin their works.

Source: savannanews24.com