Regional News Fri, 22 May 2009

Twenty DCEs in Eastern Region Sworn into office

Koforidua May 22 GNA-Mr Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo, Eastern Regional Minister, on Thursday told Municipal and District Chief Executive (MDCE) in the area that they had a duty to ensure that financial transactions were carried out in accordance with instructions contained in the Financial Administration Regulations and the Public Procurement Act. This, he said, would be in the government's principles of transparency, accountability and judicious use of resources for the benefit of the people.

Mr Ofosu-Ampofo was swearing into office, 20 Municipal and District Chief Executive who were confirmed by their various assembles at a ceremony in Koforidua. He reminded them that the Heads of Departments who are ex-officio members of the assemblies are there to guide and advise them on technical issues.

He however cautioned them that final decision on issues would be theirs and this they should be able to defend at all time. Mr Ofosu-Ampofo advised them to deal with the numerous chieftaincy and land disputes in their areas effectively, to be able to harness the abundant human, material and natural resources in their areas, to enhance socio-economic development. He charged them to approach topical issues as Social Democrats as compared to parties which uphold the principles of "Property Owning Democracy".

"This therefore requires that you study the Manifesto of the Party to understand or appreciate the social contract that we have signed with the good people of Ghana who have voted us to power". Mr Ofosu-Ampofo charged them to make the strengthening of zonal, town and area councils as well as the Unit Committees their priority since their efficient operations would enhance the generation of internal revenue and thereby reduce the over reliance on the Common Fund. He commended the 20 assemblies for confirming the Municipal and District Chief Executive, but said his heart continued to bleed anytime "I think of the Birim Central Assembly where the only woman nominated, Ms Ophelia Koomson, to be MCE in the region was rejected outright by the Assembly"


The Municipal /District Chief Executive were later presented with the instruments of authority or appointments letters which would empower them to perform their functions in accordance with the laws of the land. They included Mr Alex Kwaku Asamoah, MCE, New Juaben, Mr Adomako Asiamah, DCE, New Abirem, Mr George Agyeman Dua, MCE, Kwaebibirem, Mr Abass Huseni Sbaabe, DCE, Fanteakwa, Mr George Opare Addo, DCE, Akuapem North and Dr Godfred Twum, DCE, Akuapem South. Others are Mr Sammy Kwabi, DCE, Suhum Kraboa Coaltar, Mr Kwame Omari, DCE, Kwahu South, Mr Johnson Ahiakpor, DCE, Asuogyaman, Mr Isaac Agbo, DCE Lower Manya, Mr Seth Okyere, MCE, West Akyem and Mr Simon Asirifi, MCE East Akyem.

The rest are Mr Andrews Sodah, DCE, Yilo Krobo, Mr Charles Apreku, DCE Kwahu North, Mr Emmanuel Attah Twum, DCE Atiwa, Mr Alex Obeng Somoah, MCE, Kwahu West, Mr Tom Budu, DCE, Akyemmansa, Baafour Mensah-Takyi, DCE, Birim South, Mr Samuel Asamoah, DCE Kwahu East and Mr Joseph Tetteh Angmor DCE Upper Manya.

Source: GNA