Pastor with two wives gets sacked

Read Comments Comments (108)

• Joe - UK 10 years ago

Foolish case if there is an veracity at all.

• Thomas Kaakyire 10 years ago

Are Ghanaian judges serious? There are millions of Ghanaians both christians and muslims with two or more wives and nobody has ever been charged or fined by any court. The pastor must refuse to pay the fine because the law is ...

• Janet Asibi 10 years ago

Mr. Thomas, you can marry under the customary law, which permits you to take more than one wife.(cultural way). But under the ordinance law, of which you are aware of ,will not permit you to marry more than one. So , the law ...

• kabokabo 10 years ago

Better arrest South Africa President Jacob Zuma first and leave this pastor alone. What is wrong with our judges? The pastor is honest!

• Okomfo,London 10 years ago

Please wise up.Jacob Zuma is not a Ghanaian.This is a Ghanaian issue not South African.

• gg 10 years ago

Prosecute Mahama. He has too many baby mamas.

• john throway 10 years ago

one may have many babies but not be necessarily married to their mothers.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Is there anyone with wisdom left in Ghana?
    Is Christianity an anti strong culturally tight society, or is that religion ok with a society full of single loose women ready to sleep with any man?

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

You are an idiot with simplistic solution to complex problems. Has polygamy stopped prostitution in societies where it is acceptable? We accept polygamy in most African societies if not all Africa societies but polygamy has n ...

• Koo 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT THE WEST WANTS FOR AFRICANS.
    WE ARE ASKED TO ACCEPT GAY MARRIAGE AND REJECT POLYGAMY.

• Ghana 10 years ago

What are you talking ? There is nothing called ordinance law. If what you are talking about is true, then the Pastor cannot be convicted because he married the second wife through custom law which according to your explanati ...

• KWASI JUNIOR 10 years ago

The Judge, the DOVVSU and all those involved in this so call case are hypocrites.

• edurance 10 years ago

the person is already married under ordinance which does not permit him to marry again no matter what other law. sometimes you make arguments without basis.

• Odopa.com 10 years ago

But OK to have the other woman as a permanent girl friend?

• Ghana 10 years ago

Do you know what an ordinance is? Ordinance is passed by municipalities that binds only the inhabitants of that particular city or town or when you are in that town.

For example, an ordinance passed in Accra will not be en ...

• Koo 10 years ago

MOST OF THE PEOPLE IN THE BIBLE WERE POLYGAMISTS. THE BIBLE NEVER SAID ANYTHING AGAINST POLYGAMY. THE PROPHETS IN THE BIBLE WERE POLYGAMISTS.

• Wankanoyie 10 years ago

"Popeepopee' or City Hall type of marriage,you are stuck with only one woman,[the dreaded Mrs.]until you get rid of her!
    However,you can opt for our traditional arraingemnt,under which,the sky is literally the limit,after yo ...

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

The guy is not even aware of the changes affecting our lives as Ghanaians. lack of knowledge they say ..........my people.

• military man 10 years ago

Janet,

Are you a lawyer,specializing in marriages?

I want to marry you... you will be the first and the only wife.....lol

What do you say?

• O D 10 years ago

WELL SAID

• ZION 10 years ago

What has the law got to do with the religion laws. can't you see that, Ghanaians has been judged already by God.our cedi is dying,our economy is suffering. People has made them self to be god.how can you charge a man of God? ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Is there any one with wisdom left in Ghana?
    Is Christianity anti strong culturally tight society where women are married and have fathers to their children or is that religion is ok with growing number of loose single women?

• Concern Ghanaian 10 years ago

Disgrace to the Christian folk

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

What irony!!
    The Judge doesn't know what he is doing.
    The revised Matrimonial laws in Ghana allow that doesn't it? unfair though it seems

• JACK 10 years ago

which one is better, the one who will marrie one and many girlfriend, and the one marrie more than tow LEGALLY!!!!

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

mind bugling issue

• JACK 10 years ago

I think to do more than tow legal marrie is better than u will marrie one and have girlfriends...

• Village Food 10 years ago

I agree with u Jack

• ELINAM 10 years ago

That's the wisdom behind polygamy as our forefathers saw fit.

• KOFI ABAS 10 years ago

so u think this pastor has no girlfriends?

• Kojo 10 years ago

Sign of the second coming of Christ ...... Emergence of false prophets , we are living in the last days.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

It is clear the white man's brainwashing of our mind is totally complete. For an African like Kojo to behave as if marrying 2 wives is strange and abominable explains why Africa will always remain backward. If you are this br ...

• Kofi Amoah 10 years ago

In the beginning, it was not like that, we created the culture ,it is not Christianity. Can go the cultural way , but then, you must leave the church. Kojo's grandfather or father was not a Christian, so he went the other way ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

The dutiful Jewish son is sitting at his father`s bedside. His father is near death.
    Father: "Son."
    Son: "Yes Dad."
    Father: (weakly) "Son. That smell. Is your mother making my favourite cheese cake?"
    Son: "Yes Dad."

• ATINGA FRAFRA 10 years ago

ONE OF OUR PRESIDENTS HAS 30 CHILDREN AND 18 CONCUBINES. WHICH ONE IS THAT? PROSECUTE HIM TOO.

• Samy 10 years ago

I will not mention names here , but if the first marriage was under the ordinance, and the wife disagrees, he could be prosecuted. It happened in one of the East African countries recently.

• joyce 10 years ago

if women treat their husband,s well, they will never go for a second wife.

• Wankanoyie 10 years ago

I have reason to suspect this Asafo Maame was 'servicing' her clients in more ways than one;and thus paid very little attention to the Osofo!
    Being constrained by biblical text from asking for an outright divorce, and knowin ...

• military man 10 years ago

Keep on dreaming

• Toh Johnson 10 years ago

Is it an offence to marry two in Ghana?

• Ghanani 10 years ago

Yes, if you married under ordinance. But if you only do the customary marriage wothout signing the court document, you will not be committing a crime. this is because, our Ghanaian customary marriage permits polygamy. That is ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

In my village if you have only one wife you are called a 'semi-bachelor'.

And by the way, where do you want the excess women to get husbands from?

• Samy 10 years ago

Do we have excess men? Then why not the women too marry two?

• ELINAM 10 years ago

The wisdom behind polygamy as our forefathers and mothers understood it was to reduce the growing number of single women in society and settle them as wives who would have fathers to their children to reduce the number of ba ...

SGT ANANI FIADZOE tell them.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

What ordinance marriage? This is a colonial law which is in contradiction with our culture.Our traditional marriage is in line with our culture and should be more acceptable than a marriage law and culture imposed on us by th ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

My friend, you need education. Our laws supersede cultural laws and don't blame colonial laws for confused Ghana.

We have had independence for 57 years and if this law being enforced by the courts was instituted since colo ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

This law of marrying only one woman and let the remaining ones turned into whores, came with colonialism.Now another one is following it which got everyone apprehensive.
    As the oldest society on earth,Black people had studie ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

What the fuck are you talking about? Don't blame colonial laws. You have been independent for fifty seven years and if you still have colonial laws in your constitution that you have changed four times, don't blame the slave ...

• Mallam 10 years ago

When the west says one wife, you say, yes sir!. when the west say you must be gay in order to get funding for your development, you say, yes sir! They are telling you they want to flood your market with their surplus n cheap ...

KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON do u even know the bible only recommends traditional marriage which is paying of the bride price in the bible,God does not recognize wedding,God only recognize traditional marriage.

• Odasani Ba 10 years ago

If God does not recognize wedding, then, what was Jesus doing at the wedding in Cana?

• Samuel 10 years ago

This is it, those who reject Christ always try to justify their worldly (Lasciviousness) with the bible.
    Remember satan always coats the bible, just like Mohammed coated the bible wrongly through out his life!

• MUHAMMAD KAAMIL. 10 years ago

My dear brothers from Aadam.please where the name Jesus came from?.where the name Bible came from?.if you believe that Jesus is a lord and savior? what about those who died before his mother was born?.Thanks.

• KAK 10 years ago

To answer your question;;
    Q1. please where the name Jesus came from?
    Ans: The name Jesus (English) is Hebrew (Yeshua)which means savior.

q2.where the name Bible came from?

Ans.The name or word bible comes from the Gre ...

• Nana Kwaku 10 years ago

KAK, YOU ARE WRONG!! The name Jesus is Hispanic in origin. You can check from the Spanish embassy. It is pronounced heysoos. Christ is from christos, of Greek origin. With Yeshua, you are correct. I once laughed when as a ver ...

• KAK 10 years ago

I never said the name Jesus was of Greek origin. Please Read my initial post again. Thank u

• kk 10 years ago

Wofa, you don't need answers to those questions to change. Those are good old excuses for Moslems. Once you make up your mind, even if angels from heaven come down to tell you about Jesus Christ, you would not believe Him.

• sakodie 10 years ago

Ma bro.if u dont have answers pls be frank.he only askdd questions n needs ya help.he didnt even tell u his believe but i guess u guessed from his name.also we see many christians who have made up their minds but latter conve ...

• Mallam 10 years ago

If your wife refuse you sex, beat her until she open her legs, and to the women, he say women who deny their husbands sex would not be blessed by the angel of God. this what Kaamil, you should be concerned about.

• Amensco Techno Serv. 0244523451 10 years ago

Toner and Ink Refill at Abeka. Call 0244523451
    Quality Toner and Ink Refill at affordable price at Abeka-Lapaz
    We refill all type of Toner and Ink Cartridges.
    We also sale and repair office equipments like:
    Laser printer ...

• Bechemniiba(Paris) 10 years ago

We sin because we think we are wiser than God. God Is God and He judges every
    one according to his works.And the results is given to us on this earth before we die.So why dont we choose to obey Gods commandments ,live in pea ...

• OMANBA, 10 years ago

Why should the pastor be arrested,prosecuted and convicted?Polygamy is part of our culture and is not a crime to have more than a wife.Is the Bible against polygamy?What about Solomon and others in the Bible who were polygamo ...

• Ghana 10 years ago

My friend, you got a point about polygamy in Ghana but you should leave the Bible alone if you are a Christian. Have you not been taught that a lot of things in the old testament was not acceptable in the eyes of God and the ...

Ghana when Jesus came he said he did not come to abolish the old teachings but rather to strengthen it.so it means polygamy is still legal.

• Ghana 10 years ago

Really? Do you understand strengthen? Make it better. The old testament taught about an eye for an eye but the new testament taught about if a man slaps you, turn the other cheek.

Anyway, we are not ruled by the Bible or ...

• sakodie 10 years ago

U are not telling us de truth.der is no where in the bible dat condemns polygamy.u beta learn your bible well.in europe n america pastors have lot of girls behind wives .this is total western culture believe it or not .

• SLY 10 years ago

as we read this my father has 3 wives now

• gifty annan 10 years ago

the world is coming to end what the scripture says in 1TIMOTHY 3:2 a bishop then must be blameless the husband one wife.why pastor Isaac?

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

EI GHANA PAA NIE???HMMMMMMM

• Lolulou 10 years ago

Good grief - a recipe for wahala!

• BULLET. 10 years ago

women of today are ready to share everything but not a DICK..

• ANOINTING 10 years ago

IT IS TIME WE PRAY FOR OUR LEADERS AND PASTORS. IT CAN HAPPEN TO ANY ONE ,WHEN WE DON'T PRAY.

• De Don 10 years ago

In which part of our constitution states that one can not have two wives.The case should be recalled.

• Mallam Issah 10 years ago

Welcome to ISLAM Allaaabobado

• Villagechild 10 years ago

Foolish. Abolish that ordinance law. If he divorce his first wife, will he be charged for offence? Is it in the constitution, by the way.

• Dj. Daabodaabo 10 years ago

VIVID CRIME TO CHRIST!!

• Kenkey Warriors!! 10 years ago

I'm converting to Islam to avoid going to jail for marrying 3 wives. I might even tie the knots with one of my other concubines to fulfill Allah's order for every man to have 4 wives. Can I get an Amen?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Once he has married two he can't divorce any of them. It is sealed. His pastorship can be withdrawn but not excommunicated period. Go and learn the HOLY BIBLE well

• ELINAM 10 years ago

There's a church in Nigeria that allows polygamy.

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

We need to debate this issue seriously as a nation.

• LuckKOJO 10 years ago

If I were the pastor i won't the fine because our constitute states that traditions must be respected. it is our tradition for a man to have two or more wives. for a pastor to marry two wives it is between him and his God not ...

• Yaro 10 years ago

is it a crim 2 hav 2 Wifes? how many was Solomon havin? once u can tak care of them just mary them. Dis is beta than d way som MP' s, Director's or just rich people havin sex outside mariage eventhough they can tak care of 4 ...

• edurance 10 years ago

stop comparing people. unless you are not a christian. from the beginning, God said that the man shall leave is father and MOTHER and shall join to his wife and they two shall be one. its totally a crime to marry two or more. ...

• THE LEARNERED ONE 10 years ago

Many are called but few are chosen. So called pastors don't drag the HOLY institution into the mud. These are happening because of stomach pastoriaship in this country and it's time the Christian Council should be up and doin ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Pastor can`t control his lobido,he prefer Frimpomaaah to the Church.
    Leave him alone to enjoy his "younge wifee"

• Kenkey Warriors!! 10 years ago

What am I going to do with my three wives and four concubines? Lord have mercy!

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 10 years ago

YOU ALL FORGET THE BIG QUESTION HERE: SUPPOSE THE FIRST WIFE DID NOT REPORT THE CASE TO THE POLICE IT WOULD HAVE GONE ON LIKE THAT SO MUCH FOR THESE CHURCHES!!!THEY ARE MOSTLY GROUP OF CRIMINAL ASSEMBLIES!!!

• Asempa 10 years ago

As a Ghanaian I dismayed to read this article and baffled . When did polygamy become a crime? In modern Ghana we hear of young women engaged lesbianism and complain. I would like to know by comparison % wise how many adult ...

• Boss 10 years ago

The judge is sick, we have right to any woman we wish.Its our tradition.

• Francis 10 years ago

You are destroying our high calling

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

What is Ghana coming to> Too much imitation of foreign culture!

• ANM 10 years ago

The pastor should simply divorce the first woman asap and keep the second woman as his first wife, then go in for another one traditionally. What kind of nonsense is that? Those stupid laws called laws of ordinances need to b ...

• DAN 10 years ago

kwasia s3m. Christ himself came from polygamous family. Check the gospel.

• KOFI ABAS 10 years ago

under ordinance, it is 1 man 1 wife.if 420 is the cost for breaking this,then am going for more secret wives. if am caught 420 is no problem

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Girl: "Forgive me father for I have sinned."

Priest: "What have you done my child?"

Girl: "I called a man a son of a bitch."

Priest: "Why did you call him a son of a bitch?"

Girl: "Because he touched my hand."

• Northern Concern 10 years ago

Why always insult each other? A little bit of that makes my day. Thanks

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Including two sisters. Since when has polygamy become a crime in Ghana. I understand his dismissal from the mushroom church, but a fine. Then why is Bagbin still walking around free?

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-THIS MAN IS NOT REALLY A PASTOR.NOT ONLY SACKED BUT NEVER TO BE USE THAT NAME AGAIN AS A PASTOR.OKONO BONI PASTOR.

• Philip samwini 10 years ago

The numerous women who cannot get husbands should go and marry their fathers? The pastor needed to inform the first wife that is all.well I respect the learned judge

I agree with you

• Philip samwini 10 years ago

That church should also know that it is not fair to women who genuinely wish to taste marriage and society denies them of it through such flims

• EGYA 10 years ago

ORDINANCE my foot, I don't know why Africans are just following this useless Western Culture....Even OTUMFUO have 2 wifes. World statistic shows 1 man to nine women. Western men marry and have Mistresses all over the place, w ...

• Houdini 10 years ago

Idiot, where do you have a statistics showing one man to nine women? The word population of men to women is almost equal. Even China with the largest population in the world has more men than women.

Polygamy is not because ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

And he calls himself a pastor with a church and congregation? Ghanaians wake up and smell the coffee.

• Yankee 10 years ago

We need to know what section 264, Act29/60 says. When it was adopted and when it became law. Polygamy, in itself is full of problems but for it to be a crime in Ghana is something everyone would like to know, and moreso, why ...

• Mosquito 10 years ago

Well than mr man. You are more a man than those judging you but have more than one.

• RESPECT 9 years ago

Infact this matter surppose to be se
    ttle in church but not court,that is why we have elders in churches.Though he need to be suspended, but not court.