Accra gets new Central Mosque

Read Comments Comments (126)

• Kofi Osman 11 years ago

This is a magnificent mosque; it was a good idea to tear down the one at Makola. That one did not befit a place of worship in the center of the city.
    Thanks to the contributors.

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

they now have their fortress of evil and soon we will see them cutting throats of innocent Christians

• ranting 11 years ago

so is this what u want the state to be like.why cant we have sane humans thinking .in central African republic it was the Christians who were killing moslems but that one no media could report because it was not Christian fu ...

• BIRAHMA 11 years ago

The guillotine which was used to cut heads was not invented by muslims

• KENKEY BOY 11 years ago

They ( Arkaida, Boko Haram, Fattah, Isis etc.) are not using guillotines to cut heads, they are using the swords Mohammed used during his jihad days. I hope the curricular of the training college would be presented to the Nat ...

• MARY 11 years ago

Ghana is a Christian country why this
    big mosque in the Capital?

• Draw 11 years ago

If Ghana is actually
    a Christian country then you need not worry about this big Mosque

• Ben 11 years ago

you Asuo Ghana doe's not belogs to you mother fuker you crazy,what ever you do we will build it,ess hole.

• YAHYA 11 years ago

IF U ARE A TRUE BELIEVER,U SHOULD KNOW FROM WHAT EVER SCRIPTURE U USE THAT EVERY LIVING CREATURE SUBMITS TO ALLAH CONSCIOUSLY OR UNCONSCIOUSLY ELSE STOP BREATHING IN THE AIR.

• ranting 11 years ago

asou do you know any thing called HISTORY.are u a humanbeing or an animal.do u even listen to the so called news,who killing who in middle east,and u call your self a xtian.even JESUS will reject u with this attitude.MAY God ...

• YAHYA 11 years ago

GOD IS WATCHING US ALL. WE SHALL COME TO KNOW THE TRUTH BUT IT WILL BE TOO LATE. HOWEVER, I WILL PRAY FOR U.

• Alhajii the moor sunnah muslim 11 years ago

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY ABOUT ALLAHS BLISS ON GHANA HE IS THE AL-GHANI MEANS HE IS THE RICH AND POWERFUL OVER ALL CREATIONS AND DO AS HE PLEASES TO WHOM AND WHERE BE AND IT BE ALL MANKINDED

• Dee 11 years ago

learn and learn. dont just type. but learn before commenting. shame

• PEACE 11 years ago

For a long time mankind has known the world will someday come to an end. Those familiar with the Hebrew Holy Scriptures know that, at this coming end, Elohim, the Creator-Judge of the universe, will resurrect all dead people ...

• PEACE 11 years ago

none of them belonging to the countless and diverse denominations of Christianity, qualify for Heaven!

• PEACEMEAL 11 years ago

PLEASE GHANAWEB FOR THE SAKE OF SANE PEOPLE AND PEACE OF HUMANITY PULL THIS STORY DOWN OR CHECK THE COMMENTS.ITS BECOMING DANGEROUS...

• Piss be upon him 11 years ago

You are definitely not ok. Either you are stupid or on some drugs. You pick incomplete pieces of verses from the Bible to suit yourself. Wo nnim nyansa. Continue to wallow in stupidity and don't repent, the time will come and ...

• soo 11 years ago

instead of speaking this way let us learn. Do you see what honesty and accontability can do? US 10 million building this big mosque to be covered with marble, also to build teacher training collecge, SHS and other buildings. ...

• Allahu akbar God is great..... 11 years ago

Allahu akbar God is great.....

• dick 11 years ago

reduce their numbers rather.. why ghana is encouraging terrorist organizations by building mosque ? build more churches and close and burn down mosques

PRAYERS IS BETTER SLEEP...SLEEPING IS THE FIRST COUSIN TO DEATH KEEP TALKING FEAR ALLAH

HOW TO MAKE A SLAVE.......THE SELLOUTS KINGS AND CHIEFS IN AFRICA FRREE PEOPLE,,,,,,speak on the real history ALLAHS SERVANTS IS NOT WEAK.....prayers is better than sleeping we all will answer to ALLAH

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

Insight-to-the-bone, for the first time, you made great sense to me and I must support your views. This building must NEVER be allowed to stand. If allowed, the source of the US$10 million for the project would be tele-misgui ...

• Dee 11 years ago

fool. the building was completed.

• ASUO 11 years ago

That Satan temple will never stay on Ghana's soil. Go to Somalia and Mali to build your Satan temples.

You want to come here and spoil Ghana's peace. We have seen what you are doing to some Christians.

• Mohammed 11 years ago

stop this ignorant if you do not know what to say.

• Bawku 11 years ago

ignorant people like you should be careful when commenting on issues on social media

• ranting 11 years ago

may the God u think u worship(if any)forgive u

• Rebecca Brown 11 years ago

Was there any evaluation done on the implication of this structure to the presidency? This should be Nunoo Mensah's job - stomach politician like him. I am really worried about how close this faciltiy is to the Flagstaff Hous ...

• PEACE 11 years ago

For many Christians, the apostles of the Savior are the surest of people to enter Heaven. Of course, the Bible accounts on the faith of these apostles rightly give Christians this assurance.
    Knowing this, every Christian of ...

• Musa K. 11 years ago

Peace, I can understand your confusion! Please take time, and prayerfully read the gospel of John in modern English.

Existence of Christianity in the New Testament.
    Acts 11:26 And when he had found him, he brought him un ...

• Nii Akompi Ofadi=Nsuro 11 years ago

We are nener Moslems and will never be, What a Full....ck is going on in Ga=Mashie who authorised this?. CHia po!

Cutting or slitting of throats at the slightest provocation or religious intolerance is the preserve of MUSLIMS. Period.

• Majeed 11 years ago

May God/Allah/Jehovah almighty be praised. God of Adam,Noah,Moses,Jesus and Mohammed (may the peace and blessings of Allah be upon them).

We thank Allah for this and we pray for him to guide us to use this structure for th ...

THANK YOU MY FAMILY ALLAHS BLESSING TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY AMEEM

• idris 11 years ago

Masha Allah

• Yaa Maggie 11 years ago

We have to know if Mahama used state money to assist in the mosque building to secure votes.

• Nima Boy 11 years ago

Yes he did ooo....BUUUULU. You and who to find out?

• Rebecca Brown 11 years ago

Have you forgotten the jet that landed in Iran? Asem behba dabi!

• Teacher 11 years ago

I wish the name of John Mahama was not associated with this. We should not mix politics and religion simply because the party needs votes -- that would be recipe for trouble. It's good that the mosque is being built and with ...

• mohamed ali 11 years ago

so this will an advanced action should enhance Ghana in general and whole Muslim in especial, for me the people who are worshippers in this cornerstone achieved in the country, very provided to maintain mosque cleaning as fi ...

• TEE 11 years ago

WE FEAR NO MOSQUE, GHANA IS NOT ARAB COUNTRY OR MUSLIMS. WE ARE PEACEFUL CHRISTIANS AMEN

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

A religion that is intolerant to different views; discourages young girls from going to school; captures them against their will, forcing them to convert; rapes women so that the can bring forth their bastard children; cuts o ...

• musah 11 years ago

the teacher training college should be sited in Tamale.

• dick 11 years ago

all moslems in ghana must register and report to police 3 times every week..all their mosquerating activities be checked by 2000 armed policemen..

My brother, you are 1000 times correct on that.

• BILLEY ABDUL-RAHMAN 11 years ago

that is really a grreat edifix for the ghanaian moslim. v.good to think of education as it is the founding stone of every nation. may Allah accept this gesture. but as a pple we must know that this fund is gotten from dedicat ...

• jerry 11 years ago

anyone wannabe issis ,bokoharm or hammas must leave this country immd we will not tolerat killings ,rascim against women or truble here
    GHANA PEOPLE DEMAND THE STOP OF THIS CONSTRUCTION THAT WILL BE NOTHING THEN BREEDING G ...

• PEACE 11 years ago

NO WONDER YOUR WOMEN ARE AT ABIDJAN SICE YAA ASNTIWAA TIME,GO ANY COUNTRY IN AFRICA AND SEE WHO ARECTHE ASHAWO ASHANTI,COME TO EVEN THE POOREST COUNTRY IN AFRICA LIKE BURKINA AND THEY ARE THERE,NOW COME TO HOLLAND DEN HAAG RO ...

• DR KUFFOUR 11 years ago

What is all this about? This is not news. We have heard it all. Thank you.

• Bawah Alhassan 11 years ago

Masha Allah! We thank God and pray that He should bless each and everyone who made an input in this project. Amen

• Bawah Alhassan 11 years ago

We thank Allah and pray that He should bless all those who made inputs into the project.

That edifice is the house of Satan and not God.

• Aminatu 11 years ago

Allahu akbar! MashaAllah I'll be offering my Eid prayers in this mosque next year.

• PEKI TUMU 11 years ago

We have to thnakful that this Mosque is not being built by the Wahhabis of Saudi Arabia

• Alhassan A Rauf 11 years ago

ATAKBIIR,MAY GOD BLESS THE FUNDERS OF THIS NOBLE COURSE(Ameen)

• K Sam 11 years ago

True what have we done about possible moslem takeover of the flagstaff house?

• CITIZEN ONE 11 years ago

I have lived with and around Muslims of the South (Coastal Ghana), and the truth is they are a completely different breed. As a matter of fact almost any indigenous group that has migrated, settled and evolved within the Grea ...

• ERIC 11 years ago

WHY IS GOVERNMENT INVESTING MONEY ON THESE DOOM REGION, WHY

• observer 11 years ago

the Moslem Community, especially in Nima, could have been better served by a $10 million school instead of a Mosque.A Mosque is the wrong priority.

• The Vice President 11 years ago

The Central Mosque near Makola was destroyed in June 1979 by Rawlings and Co

• Beth 11 years ago

Christians must rise up and pray against this trap. We are becoming like the chicken picking up corn only to be caught and killed for food. Please Christians we need to wake up and pray in Christ name to stop this kind of tra ...

• JAMES 11 years ago

Why has everything got to be in Accra

• Abdul 11 years ago

Because that's where the donor org. Wants it to be. If I have such amount of money, I will build it in Kumasi.

• nash 11 years ago

THATS GOOD NEWS

• Musa K. 11 years ago

The ways of deception are the ways of the devil. Let's not fall for his trick that a moon god can also be passed as the God of heaven (Yahweh). We are to "submit to God, and resist the devil, and he will flee" from us (James ...

• TEE 11 years ago

WHAT IS GOING ON WITH THESE PEOENI MAHAMA HEAD. DOES MAHMAA THINKS ACCRA IS NORTHERN REGION

• The Vice President 11 years ago

Boko Haram comes to town

• OBOATANTO 11 years ago

Ghanaians are finished. A school is attached. Boko Haram has safely arrived in Ghana. Oga Boro, you are welcome sir.

• dembele of 11 years ago

Ghanains are haters. your country is always goin down. indiscipline is killing your country. the moslems have better faith. think of making your country better. haters

• Alhaji 11 years ago

It's not the size of the building or the beauty of it, but the management and maitainance. i'm affraid ,this place will soon be turned into a begging arena for beggers from everywhere.

• Izzy 11 years ago

I can authoritatively say that President John Mahama had no hand in building of the mosque. It is totally independent of government sponsorship.

The only thing concerning government is the land on which it is building buil ...

• MJ KWAME 11 years ago

AM SO SAD THE WAY MOST OF OUR CHRISTIAN BRETHREN ARE TALKING ABT THIS MASJID. MOST OF THE COMMENTS ARE SO IRRITATING N OUT OF PLACE. WHY CANT WE CO-EXIST SO THE REST OF THE WORLD WOULD MAKE US A REFERENCE WHEN IT COMES TO ISS ...

• AGNES 11 years ago

Where did they get money from to build a mosque whereas most Muslims like begging for money to eat.

• ANTI 11 years ago

TOO MANY MOSQUES WILL BE BREED TERRORISM.

• Mr. Green 11 years ago

True to say for so many years ago, Europeas and Arabs came to Africa captive our forfathers brutalised them forced them to be christians or Moslem. I personally thought our ancestors did so because they were not educated. But ...

• kofi (usa) 11 years ago

The gold to turkey mosque in return

• OSMAN ISSAKA 11 years ago

ALHAMDULILLAH THIS TIME THE MUSLIMS WILL B ON THE OWN...TEACHERS TRAINING SCHOOL ND A CLINIC? HMMM PRAISE B TO ALLAH S.W.T...ND TH TO THOSE THOSE WHO MADE THIS POSIBLE

• Fred 11 years ago

Hmmmm Ghanaians should be careful. This is never good news. Terrorism will be the next plan by some wicked people members of this wicked religion.

• D.S.K 9 years ago

May Allah Continue to bless Former President John Dramani Mahama for his good vision and for facilitating this magnificent edifice.