General News Sat, 7 Aug 2010

4,543 delegates in Upper West vote for NPP Flagbearer

Wa, Aug. 7, GNA - A total of 4,543 delegates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) drawn from the 10 constituencies in the Upper West Region, are voting at designated centres to elect the Party's Presidential Candidate for the 2012 elections.

The delegates comprise five executives each from 854 polling stations in the region; 160 constituency executives, 16 regional executive committee members, three founding members, three Members of the Parliament and 203 Electoral Area Coordinators.

Professor Frimpong Boateng, former Chief Executive Officer of the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital, Mr Isaac Osei, Member of Parliament for Subin Constituency, Mr Kwame Kodua, a legal practitioner, Mr John Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten, former Minister of Trade, Industries and President's Special Initiatives and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the 2008 flag bearer of the Party, are those vying to lead the NPP in the next election.

Lawra/Nandom constituency tops the list of delegates with 729 voters, who have been divided into two groups with those from Lawra area voting at the Lawra Community Centre, while delegates from the Nandom area are casting their ballots at the Nandom Community Centre.

In the Wa Central Constituency, 599 delegates are expected to vote at the Wa Senior High School; Jirapa constituency has 548 delegates with voting taking place at Funsi. The 472 delegates from the Wa East Constituency are voting at Bulenga.

Wa West Constituency has 477 voters; Nadowli West, 459 voters; Sissala East, 354 voters; Lambussie 350 voters; Sissala West 309 voters and Nadowli East 227 voters.

A summary of photo albums for the exercise the Ghana News Agency saw showed that a total of 52 polling station executives from six of the constituencies in the region had no pictures and therefore they might not participate in the exercise.

Source: GNA