Abiam Danso re-elected as NPP Prestea-Huni Valley Chairman

NPP Flag Clean File Photo

Wed, 28 Feb 2018 Source: Daniel Kaku

Mr. Abiam Danso has maintained his seat as the New Patriotic Party chairman for the Prestea-Huni Valley Constituency.

At the end of the keenly contested election held at Bogoso on Tuesday, February 27, 2018, Mr. Abiam Danso emerged victorious in the chairmanship race polling 682 votes to beat his close contestant Mr. Francis Abeiku Yankey who had 275 votes.

The First Vice Chairman position went to Mr Stephen Anokye, who polled 577 votes, Mr. Ebenezer Oko Barimah (incumbent) who had 238 votes and Mr. Nicolas Tieku also polled 140 votes.

The Second Vice Chairman post went to Mr. Emmanuel E. K. Arthur who won with 538 votes as against Mr. Seidu Tahiru who polled 168 votes and Mr. Charles Asaah with 118 votes.

The incumbent Secretary, Mr. Lawrence Appiah Takyi took the Secretary position with 463 votes as against Mr. Daniel Korankye who polled 244 votes, Mr. Emmanuel Quarm with 152 votes and Mr. Peter Opoku with 95 votes.

Mr. Samuel Blay had 518 votes to become the Assistant Secretary beating Mr. Mamudu Adamu who obtained 390 votes, Mr. Samuel Andoh with 134 votes and Mr. Albert Kofie who also polled 80 votes.

The Organiser position was won by Mr. Francis Abeiku Yankah with 486 votes to beat Mr. Prince Quaisie who polled 230 votes, Mr. Peter Yaw Ansah had 151 votes and Mr. Collins Ofori with 89 votes.

The Women Organiser position was won by Madam Azumi Inusah with 704 votes to beat Madam Cecilia Gyamfua who polled 254 votes.

The Youth Organiser position was won by Jubel Kwaw with 374 votes to beat Kenneth Nyako who polled 294 votes and Eric Bondze Eshun had 21 votes.

Mr. Yussif Amidu Usman took the Nasara Coordinator position as unopposed and Mrs. Elizabeth Polley contested for the Treasurer position as unopposed.

Speaking to GhanaWeb's Western Regional Correspondent, the Member of Parliament of the area, Lawyer Barbara Oteng-Gyasi said the destiny and the future of the great NPP party in the Prestea Huni Valley Constituency lies in our hands and that we cannot afford to disappoint.

She congratulated the contestants and delegates for the orderly and peaceful manner they conducted themselves during the polls.

She also urged winners and the losers to work together to ensure another victory for the party.

The Constituency Chairman, Mr. Abiam Danso expressed his profound appreciation to the party delegates and supporters for the massive support given to him and pledged his commitment to work together with all party members.

"My doors all open to all and I'm going to work hard to increase our Parliamentary and Presidential votes in 2020 general elections", he assured.

In all, 972 delegates voted for 28 candidates that contested 10 vacant positions in the Constituency which was supervised by Mr. Joshua Ofori Prempeh, the District Director of Electoral Commission (EC) in the Prestea-Huni Valley.

The NPP Prestea-Huni Valley Constituency election has so witnessed the highest 44 rejected votes in the Western Region.

Source: Daniel Kaku
Related Articles: