Ablekuma South NDC elects Oko Vanderpuije's 'boy' Wisdom Dodoo as chairman

NEWS Wisdom Dodoo Ablekuma South Wisdom Dodoo is the Chairman of the NDC in Ablekuma South

Mon, 24 Oct 2022 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

National Democratic Congress (NDC) delegates in the Ablekuma South constituency gave their incumbent chairman, Geoffrey Atakli Banini, a shock when they voted against him in the recently held constituency elections.

With a new favourite for the slot, the delegates gave their votes to Wisdom Nii Amoo Dodoo, a man believed to be a favourite of the Member of Parliament for the area, Alfred Oko Vanderpuije.

After hours of waiting, due to several recounts of some of the results, the Electoral Commission representative pronounced Wisdom Dodoo the winner with a vote tally of 983, as against Banini’s 635.

Speaking to GhanaWeb right after the declaration, the newly-elected chairman said he would use his unifying personality to foster unity in the party.

He also called on all persons who had lost their various bids for election to focus on helping the NDC wrestle power in 2024.

“I’ll say better luck next time, but just so you know, I am a unifier and so I will bring all of them on board so we work towards 2024,” he stated.

On how he feels about his victory, Wisdom Dodoo said it is a great feeling, and he hopes to capitalise on it to help the NDC win the national election of 2024.

He added that the NDC intends to save Ghanaians from the poor governance of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) with a target of 25,000 more votes.

“I feel great about this victory, and I thank everyone. You know that the NPP has not been performing so we will work towards 2024 to ensure victory in Ablekuma South and the whole of Ghana.

“We are targeting about 25,000 more votes than the ones we had the last time,” he stated.

Speaking to GhanaWeb, the Ablekuma South MP, Alfred Oko Vanderpuije, explained that what happened in the elections in his constituency is a confirmation of the mandate of the people.

“In the 2020 elections, the people of Ablekuma South spoke eloquently, giving Okoe Vanderpuije 61% victory. And so, when the people speak, and you’re a member of the executive and you don’t listen, they will show you the exit. That is simple and short.

“So, we have members of the executive who, of late, have not been working with the MP. So, the delegates and the people of the grassroots made a decision, and the decision is that they love their MP, and they want their MP to continue to work for them, and they want a team that will work with the MP.

“This election is not only a foretaste, but a mandate that will go out for anybody who wants to stand in the way of the NDC; we are ready,” he stated.

Below is the full list of results from the Ablekuma South elections:


Geoffrey Atakli Banini 635

Wisdom Nii Amoro Dodoo 983

Vice Chairman

Theophilus Allottei Myers 719

Paul Ardey Codzoe 889


Robert Quaye 805

Peter Agbeli 814

Deputy Secretary

Benedict Nii Yao Crabbe 710

Eugene Kwaku Wiafe 914


Alfred Addotey Allotey 1013

Albert Pangbot 510

Deputy Organiser

Rochester Botchwey 708

King Archiemore Rockson 118


Richard Tagoe 653

Robertson Nii Kpakpo Mensah

Deputy Treasurer

Rahinatu Issifu 735

Paul Kwame Mensah 875

Youth Organiser

Daniel Kwaku Ofori 80

Theophilus Isaac Quaye 102

Deputy Youth

Emmanuel Dowuona 98

Emmanuel Banini 82

Youth Rep

Maud Doku 75

Farida Khalifa 105

Women Organiser

Sylvia Naa Abia Addy 93

Alberta Sharp 89

Deputy Women

Doris Anyomi 96

Victoria Dodoo 89

Zongo Caucus

Huud Adams 593

Mohammed Yakubu 1014

Watch the latest episode of The Lowdown below:

You can also watch this episode of People & Places on GhanaWeb TV:


Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: