General News Thu, 28 Feb 2002

Abraham Osei is new Deputy Majority Leader

The Minister for Parliamentary Affairs and the Majority Leader in Parliament on Wednesday announced the nomination and approval of Mr Abraham Osei Aidoo, MP for Tema West, as the Deputy Majority Leader. The position had been vacant since the commencement of the Second Session of the Third Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

Mr Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, MP Old Tafo Suame was nominated as the Chief Whip, Mr Kobina Okerchiri, MP for Nkwakwa First Deputy Chief Whip and Mrs Gifty Eugenia Kusi, MP Tarkwa-Nsuaem, Second Deputy Chief Whip.


Meanwhile the Majority Leader said there would be double sitting of Parliament beginning from Wednesday because of the debate on the budget. He called on members to co-operate with the Leadership to ensure a successful completion since only three people had the opportunity to contribute to the budget statement on the first day.