General News Sun, 16 Dec 2018

Akufo-Addo sacks 3 'Anas judges': Dery, Logoh, Addo; CID to deal with them

President Nana Akufo-Addo has sacked three justices of the high court who were part of over 30 judges caught taking bribes to warp justice in an undercover investigation done by journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas in 2015.

A statement signed by the Communication Director of the presidency, Mr Eugene Arhin, announcing the sacking of the justices, said: “The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has, by letter dated Thursday, 6th December 2018, removed Mr. Justice Ayisi Addo, Mr. Justice Uuter Paul Dery, and Mr. Justice Mustapha Habib Logoh, from office as Justices of the High Court”.

This was after the committee established by the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Akuffo, pursuant to Article 146 (4) of the Constitution, to investigate a complaint lodged against the three judges by Mr Anas Aremeyaw Anas, recommended their removal from office.

According to the statement, "The president, in accordance with the provisions of Article 146(9) of the Constitution, has acted on the recommendations of the Committee as the Constitution enjoins him to do, and has, accordingly removed the three Justices of the High Court from office on the grounds of bribery and corruption".

The Committee, the statement said: "Concluded that the conduct of the justices amounted to a criminal offence under the Criminal Offences Act, 1960, (Act 29) (as amended)".

President Akufo-Addo, the statement added, has, thus, "directed that a copy of the Committee's report be submitted to the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) of the Ghana Police Service for requisite action to be taken".

Source: classfmonline.com
Related Articles: