General News Wed, 9 May 2018

Akufo-Addo suspends Justice Dery, three others over Anas’ video

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, on Tuesday, suspended, with immediate effect, four (4) Justices of the High Court.

The suspension follows the establishment of a prima facie case against the four Justices, by the Committee set up by the Chief Justice to investigate alleged acts of bribery and corruption against certain persons, including the four Justices, as contained in the 29th August, 2015 petition of Mr. Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

President Akufo-Addo has, by letter, dated Tuesday, 8th May, 2018, notified each of the four Justices of the decision.

The President took the decision based on the advice of the Judicial Council in accordance with Article 146 (10) (b) of the Constitution.

The affected judges are:

1. Mr. Justice Uuter Paul Dery;

2. Mr. Justice Mustapha Logoh;

3. Mr. Justice Gilbert Ayisi Addo; and

4. Mr. Justice Charles Quist.

Source: atinkaonline.com