General News Fri, 15 Jan 1999

Assembly increases incentive for teachers

Konongo (Ashanti Region) 15 Jan. '99


The Asante Akyem North District Assembly is to increase its incentive package for teachers in the district. The amount set aside for the package has been doubled from five million to 10 million cedis this year, Mr Kwaku Kyei, District Chief Executive, said at the district's best teacher awards day at Konongo. Nine teachers were honoured in the Primary, Junior and Senior Secondary Schools divisions. Miss Janet Boatemaa Anim Kinful of Domeabra Methodist Primary, was adjudged the best teacher at the Primary level. He was followed by Mr James Oduro-Akrasi of Odumase Roman Catholic Primary with Mr Stephen Kofi Buah of Behwe/Dawereso Primary,. placing third. At the JSS level, Mr Emmanuel Kwame Affoh of Domeabra Presbyterian JSS, was first, Mr Samuel Owusu-Kwakye of Nyaboe JSS, second and Mr John Owusu-Sekyere of Konongo Roman Catholic , third. Mr Christian Owusu-Appiah of Agogo State was declared the best teacher at the SSS level, followed by Mr Emmanuel Asante-Kwarteng of Konongo-Odumase Secondary School with the third place going to Mr Jacob Arthur Dugbatey of Agogo Collins Commercial School. The First in each of the categories received a table-top fan and 100,000 cedis. Those who were second had a fan and 75,000 cedis while those who placed third were given a fan and 50,000 cedis. There were prizes for best science teachers and best circuit teachers.

Source: --