Election 2016: Konadu, Nduom go through; Ayariga and Akua Donkor miss out again

EC Live Charlotte Osei, EC Chair

Wed, 9 Nov 2016 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

The Electoral Commission of Ghana has cleared three presidential hopefuls to contest this year’s December polls.

The three are the Progressive Peoples Party’s Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom, the National Democratic Party’s Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings and the Peoples National Convention’s Dr. Edward Nasigre Mahama.

The EC cleared the three following a Supreme Court decision ordering it to give the three aspirants and nine others the opportunity to rectify errors identified on their nomination forms after their earlier disqualification.

The APC’s Hassan Ayariga and the GFP’s Akua Donkor are part of nine aspirants who will not be taking part in this year’s presidential elections for failing to meet the requirements despite the opportunity given by the Supreme Court order.

In all, seven candidates will be contesting this year’s general elections. They are:

1. Ivor Kobina Greenstreet - CPP

2. Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings - NDP

3.John Dramani Mahama - NDC

4. Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom - PPP

5. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo – NPP

6. Dr. Edward Mahama - PNC

7. Jacob Osei Yeboah - Independent

Source: www.ghanaweb.com