Ghana hosts meeting on ECOWAS single currency

Akufo Addo AU The four-day meeting is being chaired by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

Mon, 19 Feb 2018 Source: classfmonline.com

Ghana is hosting the 5th ECOWAS Presidential Task Force Meeting on the Single Currency Programme from the 17-21 February 2018, at the Accra International Conference Centre.

The four-day meeting is being chaired by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

The President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari; President of Cote d'Ivoire, Allassane Ouattara; President of Niger, Issoufou Mafiamadou, will be in attendance. Also in attendance will be Governors of Central Banks and Foreign and Finance Ministers from the ECOWAS region.

The Presidential Task Force meeting will be preceded by two meetings namely:

• The 6th Technical Meeting of the Presidential Task Force, 17-18 February 2018.

• The 2nd Ministerial Meeting of the Presidential Task Force, 19-20 February 2018.

The Technical meetings will be attended by representatives of the Ministries of Finance and Economy of Cote d'Ivoire, Ghana, Niger and Nigeria, Central Banks of ECOVAS Members State, and the regional institutions involved in the ECOWAS Monetary Cooperation Programme (EMCP), namely the ECOWAS Commission, UEMOA Commission, West African Monetary Agency (W AMA), West African Monetary Institute (WAMI) BCEAO and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA).

The meetings will among other things, provide member countries with a common platform to deliberate on issues related to the ECOWAS single currency programme and consider or adopt a revised roadmap to accelerate the creation of the single currency by 2020.

The last meeting of the Presidential Task Force on the ECOWAS Single Currency Programme was held in Niamey, Niger in October, 2017.

Source: classfmonline.com