I wanted Nana out - Mosquito

General Mosquito Neeew Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketiah

Tue, 11 Oct 2016 Source: classfmonline.com

A disqualification of the flagbearer of the main opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Nana Akufo-Addo, would have come as good news to the General Secretary of the governing National Democratic Congress (NDC), Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketiah has confessed.

Speaking on Okay FM about the EC’s disqualification of 13 aspirants, Mr Asiedu Nketiah, popularly known as General Mosquito, said: “… I would have been sad if the President had been disqualified but then I would have jubilated if they had taken Akufo-Addo out. And my reason is simple: he is our main opponent in the election.”

Those disqualified include flag bearer of the All People's Congress (APC), Hassan Ayariga; Dr Edward Mahama of the People's National Convention (PNC); Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP); Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People's Party (IPP); Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD); and Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People's Party (PPP).

The others include: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP); Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party); Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP); Thomas Ward-Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP); Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party's nomination is on hold pending a court case.

The chair of the EC, Mrs Charlotte Osei, cited filing anomalies including fraudulent signatures, absence of a required number of signatures, improper filling of nomination forms, among others, as the reasons for their disqualification. In the case of Mr Odike, Mrs Osei said Mr Odike had been given up to Friday, 14 October to deal with the court case or count himself out of the race completely.

Mrs Osei said some of the fraudulent information provided by the nominees would be followed up by the police for possible arrest and prosecution.

Those whose nominations have been accepted include President John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Nana Akufo-Addo of the main opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), and Jacob Osei Yeboah – an independent aspirant.

Source: classfmonline.com
Related Articles: