INFOGRAPHIC: Independent seats in parliament since 1992

IMANI INFOGRAPHIC2 In 2012 parliamentary elections a total of 3 independent seats were won

Thu, 24 Nov 2016 Source: IMANI

Just like other parties, independent MPs have won seats in parliament since 1992. In 1992, a total of 2 independent seats were won in parliament. However in 1996, no independent seat was won in parliament.

During the 2000 parliamentary elections, 4 independent seats were won in total. Boniface Abubakar Saddique won the Salaga seat, Joseph Akubibilla won the Garu/Tempane seat, Bawa Rashid won the Akan seat while James Victor Gbeho won the Anlo seat. But the total number of independent seats reduced to 1 in 2000 which was the Bunkpurugu/Yunyoo seat won by Joseph Yaani Labik.

The 2008 parliamentary elections saw another increase of seats for independent MPs rise back to 4. They were the Nkawkaw, Wulensi, Bekwai and Bosome-Freho constituencies. The 2012 parliamentary elections brought the total independent seats to 3 which were won by Alhassan Damani in the Tamale North constituency, Paul Derigubah in the Jirapa constituency and Joseph Kwadwo Ofori of the Akan constituency.

Source: IMANI
Related Articles: