INFOGRAPHIC: Parliamentary elections : PNC vrs CPP (Head to Head)

Par Election1 In 2012 CPP and PNC won only one seat each in parliament

Wed, 23 Nov 2016 Source: IMANI

Since 1996, the PNC has won a total of 11 parliamentary seats while the CPP won 6 seats. In 1996, the Bimbilla constituency parliamentary seat was won by the PNC. The CPP however did not compete in that election.

In 2000, the PNC won 3 seats [West Mamprusi (Walewale), Sissala]. The Ellembele seat was won by the CPP in that year also.

However in 2004, the CPP won 3 seats (KEEA, Ellembele, Evalue Gwira). The PNC won the Zebilla, Sissala East and Sissala West seat.

In 2008, the PNC won only 2 seats (Builsa South, Sissala West) whereas the CPP won only one seat (Jomoro constituency). In 2012, both parties only won 1 seat each in parliament; the Builsa South seat was retained by the PNC whiles the CPP won the Kumbungu seat in a by-election.

Source: IMANI
Related Articles: