Isaac Dogboe wins SWAG Sports Personality of the year Award

Video Archive
Sat, 5 May 2018 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

Reigning WBO World Super Bantamweight champion Isaac Dogboe has been adjudged the 2017 Sports Personality of the year by the Sports Writers Association of Ghana.

The honour was conferred on the 23-year-old boxer at the 43rd SWAG Awards night held at the Accra International Conference Centre on Friday, 4th May 2018.

Dogboe in the year under review had two bouts, all of which he won via knockout. The pugilist defeated Cesar Juarez and Javier Chacon on his way to the Super Bantamweight bout against Jessie Magdaleno.

Atletico Madrid midfielder Thomas Partey was declared the best foreign-based player for his exploits in 2017.

Partey was rewarded for his outstanding performance for the Black Stars which saw him score 5 goals last year as well as his excellent display for Atletico Madrid in both the Spanish La Liga and UEFA Europa league.

Thomas Abbey saw off competition from Berekum Chelsea Striker Stephen Sarfo and Kotoko’s Amos Frimpong to win the best locally-based player award.

Thomas Abbey was Hearts of Oak’s most exciting player last year, notching up 13 goals in 27 league matches for the Phobians who finished second in the MTN FA cup.

Added to that is his sterling performance for the Black Stars B at the 2018 WAFU Cup held at in Ghana. Abbey was unsurprisingly named in the tournament’s best players.

For guiding Aduana Stars to their second league title, Coach Yussif Abubakar was named the best coach of the year.

Aduana Stars and Ampem Darkoa were named the Male and Female football club year respectively.

The SWAG Awards is an annual award ceremony that recognizes people for their diverse roles towards the development of sports in the country

Below is the full list of winner

1. Haruna Tahiru – Para-Athlete of the year. (Armwrestling)

2. Alhassan Okine – Kickboxer of the year.

3. Anthony Boafo Danquah Boakye – Cyclist of the year

4. Richard Amanor – Volleyball player of the year

5. Grace Atipaka – Female Badminton player of the year

6. Emmanuel Yaw Donkor – Male Badminton player

7. Vincent Torgah – Golfer of the year.

8. Salia Nsabila – Hockey player of the year

9. Christian Amoah – Weightlifter of the year

10 George Bankole (Handball) – Dedication & Valour

11. Ofori Asare (Boxing) – Dedication & Valour

12. Suzzy Dede Teye (Ladystrikers/ black maidens) – Discovery of the year

13. David Akwei (weightlifter) – Discovery of the year

14. Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestler) – Discovery of the year

15. Ampem Darkoa Ladies – Female team of the year

16. Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor – Special Awards

17. Alex Asante – Special Awards

18. Dr KD Asante – Special Awards

19. Dr Martin Engman – Special Awards

20. Dr Paa Kwesi Ndoum – Special Awards

21. David Abanga – Most promising Star

22. Herbert Mensah (rugby) – Association President of the year

23. Yusif Abubakar – Coach of the Year

Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: