Jaman South delegates retain Yaw Afful

Video Archive
Sat, 20 Jun 2020 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

Correspondence from Bono Region

The incumbent Member of Parliament for the Jaman South Constituency in the Bono Region, Yaw Afful has won the bid to represent the New patriotic Party (NPP) in the Jaman South Constituency.

Yaw Afful, Deputy Minister for Aviation, shook off competition from two other contenders, Prince Marfo and Alex Awuah to emerge victorious in the intra-party contest.

He secured 324 of valid votes cast to beat his closest contender, Mr. Prince Marfo who garnered 243 votes followed by Alex Awuah who got 81 votes.

In his acceptance speech at the Krupiase Roman Catholic Church in Drobo, the MP thanked the delegates for the support reposed in him and promised to help unit the party.

He commended his two contenders for a worthy contest and promised to work with them in the interest of the party to retain the seat for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the December polls.

“It was a great contest and I am happy that I have emerged victorious. My victory is for all members in the NPP as we have a battle to win together in December. I thank my other competitors for pledging their support and I will like to promise them that I am ready to work with them for securing a victory for our great party,” he intimated.

In a related development, whilst two Members of Parliament, Professor Gyan Baffour and Akwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh won the bid to represent the party again in the Wenchi and Sunyani East Constituencies respectively, Dr. Twum Nuamah who was seeking another bite at the cherry lost to Nelson Kyeremeh.

Full List of Winners in the Bono Region

Jaman South - Yaw Afful

Berekum East - Nelson Kyeremeh

Dormaa East - Paul Twum Barima

Tain - Gabriel Osei

Wenchi - Professor Gyan Baffour

Sunyani East - Akwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh

Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: