General News Sat, 22 Oct 2016

PPP cooperated with the CID – Counsel

Executives of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) on Friday October 21 cooperated with the officers of the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) over alleged illegalities committed in the filling of nomination forms by its flag bearer Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom, Felix Ograh, one of the lawyers of the party, has revealed.

The PPP was one of 12 political parties that had its flag bearer reported to the CID by the Electoral Commission of Ghana for the said act.

On Friday, the Public Relations Officer of the CID, ASP Joseph Benefo Darkwa, told Chief Jerry Forson, host of Ghana Yensom, on Accra 100.5FM: “The CID is investigating issues of multiple registration and different signatures on the forms. These are some of the things we saw on their forms and investigations have started. We have invited all of them to appear before the CID and accordingly some have appeared, whereas others have indicated they need adequate time to prepare.”

He added: “Some of them did not follow the law in filling their forms and after our investigations, will give the report to the Attorney General for advice.”


Throwing more light on what transpired between his client, Dr Nduom, and the CID, Mr Ograh told Emefa Apawu, host of Class 91.3FM’s 505 news on Friday October 21 that: “The PPP is a law-abiding entity” adding that the party “cooperated with the police”.

He stressed: “We received an invitation and we have honoured the invitation. We cooperated with the police.”

Meanwhile some of the flag bearers who have been reported to the CID include Hassan Ayariga of the All People’s Congress (APC); Dr Edward Mahama of the People's National Convention (PNC); Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP); Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People's Party (IPP); Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD); and Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People's Party (PPP).

The others include: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP); Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party); Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP); Thomas Ward-Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP); Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP).

Source: classfmonline.com
Related Articles: