General News Tue, 29 Apr 1997

President swears in mMore Cabinet Ministers

Accra President Jerry Rawlings has sworn into the cabinet, the Vice President, Professor John Atta Mills and eight other Ministers of State at a brief ceremony witnessed by the Chief Justice, Mr Justice Isaac Abban. The Ministers are Mr Cletus Avoka, Lands and Forestry, Dr John Abu, Trade and Industries, Mr John E. Afful, Environment, Science and Technology and Mr Okaidja Adamafio, Interior. The rest are Mr Mohammed Mumuni, Employment and Social Welfare, Mr Isaac Adjei-Mensah, Works and Housing, Mrs Margaret Clarke- Kwesie and Mr Mumuni Abdu Seidu, both Ministers of State. They pledged commitment to secrecy regarding matters discussed in cabinet and also to "uphold, preserve, protect and defend the constitution of the Republic of Ghana." Three ministers were not present for the oath taking. They are Professor Kofi Awoonor and Alhaji Abdulai Salifu, Ministers of State, and Mr Ekow Spio-Garbrah, Minister of Communication.


Source: --