General News Thu, 25 Sep 2008

Seven NPP members expelled in Akwatia constituency

Apinamang (E/R), Sept. 25, GNA - Seven leading members of the Akwatia Constituency of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) have been expelled from the party for throwing their weight behind an independent parliamentary aspirant.

The seven including a former constituency secretary, organizer and two polling station chairmen have joined the campaign team of Mr Basil Ahiable, an independent aspirant.

They are Mr Edward Apeadu, former constituency Secretary, Mr Alex Frempong, organizer, Mr Ebenezer Okyere and Mr Kwame Anane Agooji, both polling station chairmen, Mr Ransford Aduful, Mr Kwasi Amaning and Miss Akosua Badu.


The decision to expel them was unanimously taken at the constituency executive council meeting held at Akyem Apinamang and attended by over 450 of the party's polling station executive. Following the recent constituency primary that elected Dr Kofi Asare, the then Ashanti Regional Director of Health Service, to contest on the ticket of the NPP in the Akwatia constituency, some supporters of Mr Philip Kofi Ankomah who contested but lost accused the constituency executive of openly campaigning for Dr Asare.

They threatened to vote for Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo in the presidential election and for an independent aspirant, Mr Ahiable, in the parliamentary election.

Source: GNA