Sports News Sun, 19 Mar 2017

Today in history: Ghana became the first nation to win four AFCON titles

Exactly 35 years today, on 19 march 1982 Ghana won its fourth and last AFCON in Libya. The Black Stars defeated the Libyans 7-6 on penalties after the game ended 1-1.

George alhassan scored for Ghana and Al Basheri equalizeD for Libya at d 11 June stadium in Tripoli. It was the first final match to b decided by penalty kicks in d history of AFCON.

Blackstars squad that won the trophy 35 years ago:

Joseph Carr

Haruna Yussif

Charles Kwame


Abedi Pele

Seth Ampadu

John Baker

John Essein

Opoku Afriyie


Opoku Nti

George Alhassan

Kwesi Appiah

Hesse Odarmten

Kofi Abbrey


Isaac Paha

Emanuel Quashie(c)

Michael Owusu Ansah

John Bannaman

Kofi Badu

Ben Kayade

Coach: Charles Gyamfi

Source: Fadal Ghandi
Related Articles: