General News Wed, 31 Jan 2001

Twelve ministerial nominees get the nod

The Appointments Committee of Parliament on Wednesday unanimously recommended for the approval of the house, the first batch of 12 nominations by the President for ministerial appointments.

The House is expected to adopt the committee's report on Thursday (tomorrow) instead of Wednesday (today) because the House had to adjourn to enable the Committee to use the chamber for vetting of other nominees.

The report said no adverse findings, petitions or objections were received on any of the nominees who have the requisite qualification and experience to handle their portfolios.

The committee acknowledged for instance the vast experience of Mr J.H. Mensah and his exemplary service in the second parliament of the Fourth Republic as Minority Leader, Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee, ranking member of the appointment and business committees of the House.


Similar comments were made about Dr Kwame Addo Kufuor, Mr Yaw Osafo-Maafo, and Mr Hackman Owusu Agyemang, Ministers- designate for Defence, Finance and Foreign Affairs respectively.

The others are Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, for Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Mr Kwadwo Baah-Wiredu (Local Government and Rural Development), Alhaji Malik Al-Hassan Yakubu, (Interior), and Professor Dominic Kwaku Fobih, (Environment, Science and Technology).

The rest are Dr Kofi Apraku, (Trade and Industry). Major Courage Quashiegah (Food and Agriculture), Mrs Gladys Asmah (Women's Affairs) and Dr Kwaku Afriyie (Lands, Mines and Forestry).

Source: GNA