General News Tue, 6 Jan 2004

Two Tema constituencies to have new names

Tema, Jan.6, GNA - The Tema Municipal Assembly (TMA) in consultation with traditional rulers are to give local names to Tema East and Tema West constituencies within Tema Municipality.

The Municipality has four constituencies - Kpone/Katamanso, which covers Kpone, through Bethleham, Michael Camp Okushibri, Gbetsile, Appolonia, Katamanso, Zenu and Kubekro, while Ashaiman Constituency covers Ashaiman up to Adenta.

Tema East covers Tema Manhean, Communities One, Community Four, Community Seven, Community Eight and Community Nine, while Tema West covers Community Two, Community Three, Community Five, Community Six, Community 10, Community 11, Community 12, Adjei Kojo, Sakomono and Communities 13 to 18.


Mr Samuel Evans Ashong Narh, Tema Municipal Chief Executive, who was speaking to the Ghana News Agency on Tuesday, said the proposed name for Tema East was Chemu Constituency, while that of Tema West was Sakumo Constituency. Chemu and Sakumo are lagoons in the respective constituencies.

He said the Assembly was in touch with Tema Mantse, Nii Adjei Kraku II about the name of Tema East, while it was also discussing with the traditional rulers of Nungua for the name of Tema West. Mr Narh explained that the name for the new constituencies that would cover Ashale Botwe and Adenta was being discussed with the traditional rulers.

Mrs Philomena Edusei, Tema Municipal Electoral Officer (EC) confirmed that there were moves to change the names of Tema East and West Constituencies but said the initiation was not from the EC. She said the adoption of local names should come from the Assembly in consultation with the traditional rulers, adding, "I can't tell if any changes in the names of the constituency would be effected in this year's elections".

Source: GNA