Kumasi Airport, Tamale Airport, three others not commercially viable - Auditor-General

Read Comments Comments (50)

• Kojois 7 months ago

And so

• AGBESI KWASI 7 months ago

Very soon NPP politicians would want to sell these airports to themselves.

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 7 months ago

Is that all too known Paul Adom-Otchere board members can do?

• Judas 7 months ago

Npp f00ls just want t-shirt. Kwasiafuo

• EB 7 months ago

Common sense should tell any reasonable person that it will take time to recoup the amount of money invested into renovating these airports.

• Mary- Ho public toilet 7 months ago

Agbesi Kwasivi, at the time of the report in 2022, Prempeh I International Airport was not in existence. The new Prempeh I Airport was commissioned in 2024. The old Kumasi Airport and the new International airport are not th ...

• Pericles 7 months ago

10/10. That is the Akyempanzee Sakawa Agyapadie MO: rubbish it, then buy it cheap.

• Ghanaba 7 months ago

AM NOT SURPRISED. THAT KUMASI AIRPORT IS A COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY! A RAILWAY LINE FROM ACCRA TO BURKINA, MALI AND NIGER WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE WCONOMICALLY VIABLE AND SERVED THE COUBTRY BETTER. USELESD TRIBAL PEOPLE. WE ALL P ...

• Loose talker 7 months ago

Kwasea kwa. An embecile whose caps key is stuck, thus typing in caps.

• Ayeebo 7 months ago

But is this surprising? There were not are still not commercially viable

• Kk 7 months ago

Non visionary people in 20 years time these airports would be too small

• Koo Boare 7 months ago

The construction of some of these airports are just for political reasons. Cape Coast is planned to be added to the list. Afram Plains is crying for roads, bridges and pontoons while money is wasted on building bloody usel ...

• Ewvevi 7 months ago

Hahahahahaha. Aaaaaaagyei. They say aaaaall the five oo. Kikikikiki Kikikikiki. They say all the five oo. Hmm.

• Usman Diakete 7 months ago

Ho Airport is the worst financial drain. How can an airport generate 0 revenue? This unfathomable.

• David 7 months ago

Instead of developing a good road network or railway line linking the capital Accra, money was wasted on an airport with hardly any passengers. Who want to pay so much money for a 20 minutes flight?

• Aaaaaba 7 months ago

Go and ask John Mahama

• Maame Abenah 7 months ago

They are lying! Soon, akuffo addo and his cronies will buy them cheap. It is all part of the Akyempanzee State Capture agend aka Agyapadie.

• Aaaaaba 7 months ago

Masa check the records u can Google and read about this airport ho, tamale and co all this financial lost was mahama

• Odeneho Kofi Adu 7 months ago

John Mahama should be charged for causing financial loss to the State. What informed his decision to do that?

• Papillo 7 months ago

We must learn how to walk before deciding to run.

• OSABARIMA MENSA 7 months ago

Kumasi airport will be viable when it starts international flights. I am not so sure about the rest of the loss making regional airports ever making profits.

• Ghanaba 7 months ago

What will make kumasi Airport viable? Your thoughts are very myopic! Kumasi is a slum, even the ashantes don't built there! What commercial activities are in kumasi to make the flights viable? Is it the ashantihene one trip a ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 months ago

let the contractor finish the run-way for international status - your Accra Airport would be sooner or later be a second to Kumasi in terms of patronage.
    we are waiting for the total completion of the Kumasi -international ...

• Ghanaba 7 months ago

@rogue lawyer
    I think you need to keep taking your pills! In a million years kumasi can never be compared to Accra in terms development. Kumasi is a slum, a medieval city full 9f stupidity! Am not sure who named it rhe garde ...

• Bastie Asantefournyinaahene 7 months ago

I shot on Kumasi and Kumasihene

• 90p 7 months ago

I know u r not smart,

• Nee 7 months ago

Why do you hate the ashatis that much?. Kumasi a slum with no commercial activities?. Kumasi is the main commercial city in Ghana serving all regions except Accra, central and volta.

• COD 7 months ago

The Kumasi Airport has been under construction and re-construction. It was just re-opened, so, what sort of report about viability is this?

• Musa 7 months ago

Stupidity and lunacy of our leaders is in fact legendary. This is only a drop in the ocean as compared to all state institutions. This is why the nation is on a nosedive

• Nii Akwei 7 months ago

Time will tell

• Togbe Novi 7 months ago

Everybody is in Accra fighting the Ga people for their Lands.The ewes are afraid of vodoo if they take planes from Accra to Ho.You can imagine what will happen if all Americans decide build houses in Washington.DC.

• Eworze 7 months ago

Eweland is too close to Accra, it will never ever make an economic sense to board a plane home.

• My Gh 7 months ago

So you can see how myopic leader like Mahama built an airport inHo for what?..... But just for political reasons and now it's a white elephant. Indeed a man who understands 24hr Economy. How can Ho airport support this vision ...

• Mane 7 months ago

Only accountants and auditors assess viability and sustainability of projects narrowly based on income and expenditure. Economist will include other variables to assess beneficial impact of projects on the country's GDP.

• Ghanaba 7 months ago

There is no economic advantage for the kumasi airport! Its a waste of money! Just like the cathedral that useless ugly dwarf decided to built to satisfy his personal gratification! Kumasi is a slum, all the money the ashantes ...

• Kwabena Nimo 7 months ago

Kumasi airport will become profitable or break even when it becomes international.
    The government must encourage the setting of big businesses like chocolate factory, Textile factory. foreign embassies(annex). Food processi ...

• Ghanaba 7 months ago

Look at another idiot! Your useless government couldn't even manage the setting up of casava factories! USELESS IDIOTS

• Kojo sense 7 months ago

People need to be patient first and remember this is long time business this airports can not make money at once but in feature it will be victory

• Joy 7 months ago

Yet it must be in good maintenance

• POWERFUL 7 months ago

Very stupid report. So what is your proposal for the airports to be financially viable. I propose that selected international flights are directed to the Kumasi and Tamale airports. Domestic flights to Kotoka and order region ...

• Karma 7 months ago

Then make them commercially viable, that's why y'all are government,.......

• Emmanuel 7 months ago

This auditor general has no vision and no common sense!! Airport is a long term investment. He should know that developments of that kind attracts commercial activities!!
    He should fight the corruption and stop this nonsense ...

• INVESTING IN A GOOD NATIONWIDE ROAD NETWORK FAR BETTER 7 months ago

Greatly improving and expanding our poor and neglected road network would be transformational for Ghana's economy.
    No nation has ever developed and progressed economically without first having a well developed extensive tran ...

• Nee 7 months ago

Were the expenses only recurring or included capital expenditure?. If they include capital expenditure then this this is misleading since capital expenditure takes time before they are recoup. If they are purely recurring exp ...

• Dunaa 7 months ago

As the saying goes "Rome was not built in a day". Unfortunately in Ghana, continuing maintenance is going to be the problem. Both NPP and NDC members loot the national assets. We have to put a stop to that !!!!

• Tony Kwofie 7 months ago

AIRPORTS are not built for commercial purposes only. In national disasters and emergencies they serve very useful purposes. Logistics and supplies are quickly transported to the needy areas.In case of evacuation of injured a ...

• Tony Kwofie 7 months ago

All these Airports mentioned were in existence some from the 60s. The only exception is the HO airport What this government has done is to upgrade the infrastructural facilities. By the way the Western Region which supplies t ...

• Grow in Wisdom 7 months ago

Some people throw out jargons anyhow, without getting to understand what those jargons really mean. How did they arrive at the conclusion that these airports are not commercially viable?

Making losses on a project or a pr ...

• Agyaaku 7 months ago

Yes, Mahama's Ho Airport would surely not GENERATE ANYTHING!!!!!

• BBB 7 months ago

How can you make profits when air fares are very expensive? Our leaders are suffering from poverty of good thinking. If air fares are affordable these airports will be busy all day and making profits as well. The air transpor ...