Black Stars to receive $90,000 each for winning trophy

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Rocky 9 years ago

Considering our priorities isn't that too much?

• Mr.N 9 years ago

The price money for this tournament is $1.5 million and if we are paying each player $90K = $2,070,000.00 Kwesi Nyantakyi and his GFA get $90K too. Ghana is dead country and this foolishness has to stop.

• obi 9 years ago

Look at this fools again. Confuse the BS again? where from this stupid idea would somebody shut the fuk up so we can concentrate

• Aduanaba 9 years ago

U guys again?
    Keep dishing money out like confetti!!!

• J0eY LOnD0N 9 years ago

Mr Multiplex?

• AGYEMAN! 9 years ago

Another chance to kiss the almighty dollar!

• Son of Man 9 years ago

Believe me, he really will

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

Give them "undred" john boyes

• GhanahMassai,France. 9 years ago

If I were in the BS squad, I'll fight like a lion in Zion to bring home this long-awaited trophy & show the whole world that we are simply the best (in Africa, for the moment). The eventuality of such a happy outcome will en ...

• #Ern is back!! 9 years ago

We all want Black Stars to win, but when we hear of the money they make it puts things into perspective and we realise that there are more important things than football.

• Mr.N 9 years ago

The reality is "cut your coat according to your cloth". The prize money is $1.5 Million and we are ready to pay $2.7 million.

• Emperor Rasheed 9 years ago

I took my time and watched all the matches played so far, and I find the standard very low. You cannot single out an outstanding player. Unlike the days of Roger Miller, Theophile Abega, Abdul Razak, Rabah Majer, Lakder Be ...

• Mr.N 9 years ago

You are right my bro and those players did get pay $90,000.00. We are a sick nation the price money is $1.5 million and we are ready to pay the players total amount of $2.7 Million and no one knows what equation Kwesi Nyantak ...

• J0eY LOnD0N 9 years ago

I am surprise you are falling for this hearsay bro,we should wait for the rejoinder abi la?

If we are getting $1.5 million and the players are to receive a total of $2.7 million,then where are they going to get the extra $1.2 million?Yes, Osman coefficient Dan fodio julo Nyantakyi is really a "genius". Time will tel ...

• #Ern is back!! 9 years ago

Mr N. Do you understand what "reality" means? "Reality" means what is going on in REAL LIFE!!!!
    What you are talking about, cut your coat according to your cloth etc are "wishes" or "ideals" - that is what should happen, but ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

if you trying to use it to rip off Ghana, then it will be difficult to get....Nyantekyi has a private ATM machine for this?

• COEFFICIENT 9 years ago

HEADLINE: "Black Stars to receive $90,000 each for winning trophy".

STORY: "Each player in the team will earn $25,000 should Ghana win the final game and take the trophy".

FOOLS, WHY DO YOU MAKE IT SOUND AS IF THEY ARE ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

The coach must train the Stars very hard on corner kicks,free kicks,crossings and penalties.The Stars wasted 14 good corner kicks and countless free kicks against South Africa.This is not how to play tournament if you want to ...

• Cliff 9 years ago

I also think this is too much considering our limited resources and other pressing needs such as education and sanitation

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Good observation.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

The Americans and Germans defeated the Black Stars with few corner kicks in the 2014 Brazil World Cup.Stars must pay attention to corner kicks,either in their favour or for the opponent.All the best.

• S. Frempong 9 years ago

This big money for the players at each level of the game will not encourage them to win the tournament, because they still make a lot of money without winning. How many Ghanaians are making 30,000 dollars per year?

• naar 9 years ago

the players are not corrupt like mahama and co.they sweat their ass to make a living.if u think it,s more pls,help retrieve all the nation,s stolen money.eg,gyeeda,sada,wayome,nhs,korle bu 419.pls be ralistic and don,t ve hat ...

• Sabito 9 years ago

It's because only one player was taken all the corner kicks and free kicks. We need to blend them out. If other players had also tried, we would have had different results.

• Joseph hagan 9 years ago

Is not too much is nature of football. Black deserve it if only they put smiles to citizens of our country Ghana.

• Chris 9 years ago

How long would it take you to smile if Ghana wins the AFCON? People of this country needs basic things first. Germany won the world cup....how much money did the players receive? It's not about money, never get this wrong. Th ...

• ISAAC 9 years ago

KWASIA, YOU INLY WANTED TO SMILE?
    LOOK AT OUR ROAD CONDITIONS IN GHANA.
    EVEN THE PRICE MONEY FOR THE GAME IS UUSD 1,500,000 AND YOU ARE SPENDING OVER USD 4,000,000 JUST TO TAKE A CUP?

• Chris 9 years ago

Ridiculous, complete nonsense.

• wiseman 9 years ago

ls too much, may be nyantakyi has his share so he doesnt care about the living condition of the people of ghana

• OGOGLO QUARTER !!!! 9 years ago

LOTS CASH,,,THIS IS WHY WE THE POOR HATE THE FA AND THE PLAYERS AS WELL,,,,,,JOHN BOYE WILL BE SCORING MORE GOALS,,I CAN SEE THAT COMING,,,,

• AMERICA LOVER 9 years ago

Too small ! GFA, please, add more. The stars deserve $120,000 each.

You are making too much noise these days, and I have to punish you for that. You can cool me down, by buying I cow, two sheep and ten bottles of ogoglo to give them to OGOGLO QUARTER.

• AMERICA LOVER 9 years ago

Okay Rasheed, I will obey you "Sir ! At least, if post you $1000 case die.

Wait till I get my winning bonus after AFCON 2015

• Yankee 9 years ago

Ghanaian workers are underpaid, yet you have that much money to pay each player. Hmmmm

• tweaaa 9 years ago

this is nonsense..all these monies can be channelled into the energy sector...total debrish

• Oprege 9 years ago

Money is coming from the ghanaian government but as part of the winning prize if we lift the trophy.

In fact the citizens make profit if we win the grand prize instead .

• JK 9 years ago

Try channeling the money into the energy sector and see if the boss there will not pocket most of it. That is the dilemma; everybody is a thief (not corrupt).

• Kingsleyachaw 9 years ago

Think about the people of Ghana and about the electricity and water problem too, by the way where is this money coming from ?is it from the tax payers , CAF or the government?

• Nana Offei 9 years ago

eiih Ghana, we do things like we don't think. Its really terrible how we run our economy. Almost 60% of our population are under the poverty line and can't afford three square meals a day, hmmmmmmmmmm, its really sad

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Boss,the Pres. for encouraging the kind of 'foolishness' we are witnessing! After all,these guys did not put a gun to anybody`s head to extract this outrageous sum of money. They were invited to join the team,and did not impo ...

• Kofius 9 years ago

Your Kuffour started this nonsence in 2006

• Pee man 9 years ago

We don't need this information now to distract & divide the supporters & the players. How to win is more vital. Our reporters should learn to report to unite and not to divide & take people's attention away.

• gambo 9 years ago

i think its too much for them bcos ordinary Ghanaians are suffering in this current economic crises where there ‘domsor domsor', our roads are bad and there is no quality education.

• AKWAPIMBA, LAS PALMAS DE G.C., SPAIN 9 years ago

-NOT BAD FOR THE PLAYERS.THEY DESERVE FOR WHAT MAKES US PROUD AS A NATION WHEN THEY WIN THE CUP.THEY WILL WIN THE CUP 2015.GOOD LUCK AND ALWAYS PRAYING FOR YOU ALL.

• gak 9 years ago

Why do we always talking of winning money and divert attention for the support for the team? Our mentality if in fact awful.

• naar 9 years ago

why argue over this money when you are a stomach direction type of player.the national income of the country are being distributed among a few thieves in high rangs.for the stars to sweat right from their ,asses,i think they ...

• Dr. B USA 9 years ago

This time no suitcase business. ya bre

• Padmore 9 years ago

By the official CAF release, these are the permuations.
    Quarter Finals :
    Match 1.Equatorial Guinea vrs Tunisia
    Match 2.Congo vrs Congo DR
    Match 3.Ghana vrs Guinea
    Match 4.Algeria vrs Cote D'Ivoire
    Semi Finals
    Winner in ...

• Akamai 9 years ago

. Calculate not needed

• Roger 9 years ago

I hope this a joke, but if it's true I hope this money is coming from an indevitual.a country that can afford oil to run machines that provide electricity will waist that amount on succer players, then Ghanaians should join m ...

• Las Vegas 9 years ago

They deserve it more than any politician. They bring glory to the nation. Ghana's name is known in the world b'cos of soccer-the Black Stars.

• Md 9 years ago

Stop using money as the only tool for motivating players to perform. Have you ever heard that a European country o US has motivated their sportsmen by promising them money. It is shame to continue this way

• U.S.A. 9 years ago

They are the only citizens who kill themselves for mother Ghana and bring glory to the nation. Politicians stealing from the nation and the bribery and corruption from the population. God bless you Black Stars

• blackboy 9 years ago

STOP REPORTING HOW MUCH THREY WOULD BE PAID.

STOP IT NOW. THIS BRINGS STUPID AFRICAN ENVY AND ACRIMONY.
    $90K is Nothing in terms of the marketing for the Country.
    Millions would come to Ghana for the boys efforts.
    ENOUG ...

• Repacker 9 years ago

HOSPITALS HAVE NO FACILITIES, SCHOOLS UNDER TREES and 90.000 .US D.FOR EACH PLAYER.

• ??? 9 years ago

STOP THEM FROM PLAYING,BCOS WHEN THEIR LEGS GOT BROKEN THEY WONT HAVE THE FACILITIES.WHAT BONUS HAS TO DO WITH HOSPITALS AND SCHOOL BUILDS.THEY GET MONEY FORM AFCON FOR WINNING THE CUP.A PERSON WHO IS SETTING BEHIND A DESK AT ...

• Rojas 9 years ago

I think the media is not doing anybody any favor by writing about money at this time, when we all know how bad the money saga ruined the spirit of the Black stars at the last world cup game. If anything at all write about the ...

• SAMUEL AGBEVI 9 years ago

THIS JOHN MAHAMA IS INDEED VERY STUPID AND CLUELESS. IF YOU CAN SHARE SUCH MONIES TO THE FOOTBALLERS WHY CAN'T YOU BUY OIL TO POWER THE THERMAL PLANTS TO GENERATE ELECTRICITY FOR THE COUNTRY?

• BABS 9 years ago

WITH THIS IF I WIN OR LOSE I WILL GET MY MONEY MENTALITY, THIS BLACK STARS CANT DO SHIT, JUST WATCH,THEY DONT HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO WIN A TROPHY.

• Just Passing By 9 years ago

They're going out either in this game or the next, so we don't have to worry about them winning anything or getting any bonus biaa. On the other hand if they DO win then they deserve the money so no problem there either.

• Flo 9 years ago

They work and desev it

• WEMBLEYK 9 years ago

WAS SPEAKING TO FRIEND THIS MORNING AT WORK IN NEW JESERY USA,FROM SPAIN,HE WAS SO SHOCKED TO READ THAT ONLINE.MOST OF THESE GUYS PLAYS ABROAD AND MAKES GOOD MONEY,CANT THEY JUST TAKE ($30,000)AND GIVE THE 60,000 TO CHARITY ...

• ??? 9 years ago

go and face those setting behind desk stealing millions.they are not breaking their legs.ask them to donation some of what they stole to charity.

• Dansoman gee 9 years ago

What do w
    e

get from football?

• Spiky 9 years ago

What is the craze about the AFCON trophy to cost Ghana so much? Is it going to help the country solve the energy crisis, rampant poverty amongst the population, lack of infrastructure, low productivity in agriculture and manu ...

• ??? 9 years ago

the world cup,each Germany player received $408,000 from their federation.the federation received $35m fifa.That's $5 million more than Spain received for winning it in South Africa

• Sabito 9 years ago

Even if this money is not giving to them, a greedy and selfish politician will pocket all by himself. Give it to them; they are also Ghanaians and deserve part of the oil revenue.

• Man of God 9 years ago

Oh! Ghana, it is getting too much, aahh ba! wala hwe!. All dis money aa coming to sponsor de work of de devil. Ghana we to repent.

• John Aboagye 9 years ago

What is wrong with Ghana?There is a national currency,Cedi.Yet,we keep quoting payments in Dollars.Is it any wonder the Cedi is shit?Let us shut the Bank of Ghana and formally adopt the American Dollar if we want to make paym ...

• Kay 9 years ago

What the hell, the prize money is 1.5 mill and you spend over 2 million who runs such a business? Nyantakyi must be shot or hanged for causing financial loss to the state. this is blatant stealing we need JJ back now.

• ??? 9 years ago

FOR WINNING THE CUP.THEY RECEIVED $35M FROM FIFA ,AND EACH PLAYER WENT HOME WITH $408.000 FROM THE GERMAN FOOTBALL FEDERATION.THAT MEANS THE FEDERATION ADDED MONEY TO THE 35M.

• KING JAMES VERSION 9 years ago

BLACK COUCHES BRIBE,,WHITE COUCHES NO BRIBE..BLACK MANS MENTALITY.OLDEN DAYS COUCHES DO DEAL IN BRIBES THAT WHY WE WON THE AFRICAN CUP.

• kofi 9 years ago

What will this stupid cup do for the country for us to be wasting this colossal amount on this players, while we wallow in dumsor. Brainless leaders in indeed

• salis Amin 9 years ago

Ghana players can donate some of the money to ECG so that they will reduce the light offs and orphans.Not all money keep in account while some are suffering and don't have even food to eat.

• mike 9 years ago

Please we need good hospitals roads anD living life's in ghana. This players are wealthy already why can't we keep the money to generate electricity power to ghanaaians so that all of Ghanaians will enjoy the better ghana. Bc ...

• Nii 9 years ago

That money is too much. We have so many things begging for some few dollars and we are willing to give this away because of football? What a nation!!!

• wow 9 years ago

while ghana dont have light and water

• Ekouba Gyasi 9 years ago

It shows how gh goverment is hungry to win this trophy after been four times winner of African cup of nations and the last time winner since 1982 .we are solidly and spiritually behind you . The coach should start kwasi App ...

• Ekouba Gyasi 9 years ago

We are hungry for the trouphy let give it to them

• kweku 9 years ago

Do you know how much dollars a professional gallant ghanaian soldier ends at peace keeping operations after six months?

• Jack Toronto 9 years ago

I think the players should consider the lighting system n water problems we are facing in the country,and try to minimize the amount they ask for.Greek players play for free in Brazil world cup.

• akwasi early bird.JUABOSO. 9 years ago

THEY THE COMMITTE SHOULD A
    LSO THINK OF SUPPORTING THE U-20.AND STOP ALWAYS BLACK STARS.

• Kofi Nkrabea 9 years ago

????

• johnethan 9 years ago

a very good reward for the winners by the authorities because if the Black Stars will win the AFCON 2015 then they will receive a total of 90,000$

• savola 9 years ago

Ah this government koraa why? No problem 2016 just on the corner. We will drop that hunting yam. ( ahabayer3)

• no name 9 years ago

is beta we stay at hom

• silas 9 years ago

they deserve it;go ghana go