Sports News Wed, 12 Jun 2019

Click to read all about coronavirus →

AFCON 2019: Mo Salah headlines host’s final squad

Javier Aguirre, Head Coach of Egypt's football team, has announced his final 23-man squad for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), on home soil with star player and Liverpool player Mohamed Salah, as the lead player.

The Mexican tactician axed Smouha duo, left-back Ahmed Aboulfotouh and goalkeeper Mohamed Abou-Gabal from his 25-man preliminary squad.

His list includes the reigning Africa Footballer of the Year, Mohammed Salah and 15 local players.

The Pharaohs would play two friendly matches as part of their preparations; the first against Tanzania on June 13 and the second against Guinea three days later at Alexandria's Borg El-Arab Stadium.

The record seven-time African champions are in Group A alongside, DR Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Egypt would kick off the tournament on June 21, against Zimbabwe at the Cairo International Stadium.

Egypt reached the final of the last edition in 2017 and are seeking to win the tournament for the first time since 2010.

Egypt's final squad:

Goalkeepers: Ahmed El-Shennawi (Pyramids FC), Mohamed El-Shenawy (Ahly), Mahmoud Genish (Zamalek)

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich Albion), Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Ali Ghazal (Feirense), Ayman Ahsraf (Ahly), Mahmoud Hamdy (Zamalek), Baher Elmohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Ayman Mansour (Pyramids FC), Mahmoud Alaa (Zamalek)

Midfielders: Walid Soliman (Ahly), Abdallah El-Said (Pyramids FC), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mahmoud “Trezeguet” Hassan (Kasimpasa), Amr Warda (Atromitos), Nabil Emad (Pyramids FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Aly (Arab Contractors), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Marwan Mohsen (Ahly), Ahmed "Kouka" Hassan (Olympiacos).

Source: GNA

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: