Africa's World Cup seedings announced

Wed, 27 Jul 2011 Source: BBC

▶ Click Here for Full AFCON Coverage ◀

The seedings for Africa's 2014 World Cup first and second qualifying rounds have been announced.

This comes after football's world governing body Fifa unveiled its latest monthly rankings on Wednesday.

The 2014 World Cup qualifying draw will be held on Saturday in Rio de Janeiro.

Brazil will host the competition from 12 June - 13 July 2014.

A total of five Afican nations will qualify for the 2014 World Cup.

Burkina Faso are the only one of the top seeds to have never contested a World Cup before, while 2006 finalists Togo could be knocked in the very first round.


Pot 5 (countries ranked 29-40): Mozambique, Democratic Republic of Congo, Togo, Liberia, Tanzania, Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Namibia, Burundi, Madagascar

Pot 6 (ranked 41-52): Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Chad, Swaziland, Comoros Islands, Lesotho, Eritrea, Somalia, Djibouti, Mauritius, Seychelles, Sao Tome e Principe

The 12 countries in Pot 5 will be drawn against the 12 from Pot 6, who will play at home first. Aggregate winners from November's two-legged ties will advance to the second round.


Pot 1 (ranked 1-10): Ivory Coast, Egypt, Ghana, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Cameroon, Algeria, Tunisia

Pot 2 (ranked 11-20): Gabon, Libya, Morocco, Guinea, Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, Uganda, Mali, Cape Verde Islands

Pot 3 (ranked 21-28 plus two others): Benin, Zimbabwe, Central African Republic, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Niger, Angola, The Gambia plus two first round pairings

Pot 4: the remaining 10 qualifiers from the first round

The 10 four-team groups will be formed by drawing together one team from each pot and each country plays three opponents at home and away.

The matches will start in June 2012 and conclude in September 2013.


A draw will split the 10 group winners into five two-leg ties, with the aggregate winners qualifying for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The first leg of these decisive matches will take place in October 2013, concluding a month later.

N.B. Non-entrants Mauritania and non-ranked Sao Tome e Principe have not been included in the draw.

Source: BBC