Clottey is 2008 Sports Personality of the Year

Sun, 20 Dec 2009 Source: GNA

▶ Click Here for Full AFCON Coverage ◀

Accra, Dec. 20, GNA - Joshua Clottey - former International Boxing Federation (IBF) Welterweight Champion emerged the 2008 Sports Personality of the Year at the 34th Edition of the Sports Writes Association of (SWAG) Awards Night in Accra on Saturday.

Clottey, who prior to the event faced stiff opposition from Inter Milan's Sulley Ali Muntari and former Kumasi Asante Kotoko striker Eric Bekoe took the prestigious award as he received an overwhelming votes from members of the Association for his efforts in the year 2008.

The boxer also won the Professional Boxer of the Year award following his exploits on the world stage last year.

Clottey in a speech at the ceremony at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra, expressed appreciation to the Association and the entire nation for the honour done him and promised to win another world title for the country in 2010.

The boxer said he is looking forward to another world title fight early next year at which he hopes to redeem his image with a convincing victory, assuring that Ghanaians will see another world title next year. Clottey appealed to the corporate world to come to the aid of the Association with sponsorship to enable them to continue to honour distinguished sports men and women in the country.

John Painstil of Fulham and a regular member of the senior national team the Black Stars won the Footballer of the Year Award after he also beat Muntari and Bekoe to the award.

Bekoe however went home with the Premiership Player of the Year Award and the Top Scorer for the 2007/8 Premier League season.

Other award winners were; Promising Player of the Year - Aaron Amoah (Tudu Mighty Jets), Discovery of the Year - Florence Dadson (Black Maidens) and Special Meritorious Award - Emmanuel Quarshie (former coach of Berekum Arsenal).

The rest are, Ebo Bartels, Chairman of the Ghana Table Tennis Association (GTTA) - Chairman of the Year, Table Tennis Player of the Year - Samuel Akayade (Male), Akosua Ketu, (Female), Amateur Boxer of the Year - Bastie Samir, Dedication And Valour - Felix Dowuona (Fire Service Handball team), Hockey Player of the Year; Male -Elikem Akaba, Female - Georgina Sam with Mercy Tagoe Quarcoo as the Referee Of The Year.

Six individuals were also honoured in the special awards category; Gideon Quartey, Chairman of Greater Accra Amateur Boxing Association; Kwame Ampofi Jnr., General Secretary of GTTA; Benson Tongo Baba, President of Ghana Olympic Committee; Prince D. Vanderpuije-Orgle, Chairman of Ghana Cricket Association and Gifty Annan-Myers, Chairman of Ghana Rugby Association (GRA). 20 Dec. 09

Source: GNA