Sports News Thu, 4 Jan 2018

Drogba, Carol Tsabalala to MC CAF Awards

Ivory Coast legend Didier Drogba and South African journalist Carol Tshabalala will be the masters of ceremony of the Aiteo CAF Award which will take place in Ghana today.

The Legendary striker Drogba is a former winner of the award in 2006 and 2009 and has scored 61 goals in 103 appearances for his country. The 39 year old has won the Champions League, four Premier League titles, four FA Cups and three League Cups with the Blues.

He has also played for Marseille, Chinese club Shanghai Shenhua, Galatasaray in Turkey and Major League Soccer side Montreal Impact throughout his illustrious career.

Carol Tsabalala popularly known as ‘First Lady of Sport‘ is a renowned South African sports broadcaster who works for Super-Sport.

Other high profile dignatries will grace the event including His Excellency the President of Ghana, Nana Akufo-Addo, former past winners of the award, Emmanuel Amuneke, Nwankwo Kanu and Victor Ikpeba, Samuel Eto’o Fils, Abedi Pele among many others.

Egyptian Mohamed Salah, Gabon’s Aubameyang and Sadio Mane of Senegal are the contenders for the prestigious African Player of the Year whilst the trio of Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria), Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa) and Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon) battle it out for the Women’s Player of the Year.

The winner will be announced tonight at a ceremony at the Accra International Conference Centre.

Source: ghanaguardian.com