Soccer News Fri, 23 Nov 2007

Ghana await world cup draw

On Sunday at 15:00 GMT, the eyes of the footballing world will turn to South Africa for the Preliminary Draw for the 2010

FIFA General Secretary Jerome Valcke is the Master of Ceremonies for the event, which begins with the Stage Three draw for the Asian Zone. The North, Central America and Caribbean Zone is the next confederation to come under the spotlight, with the first three stages of their preliminary campaign decided upon in Durban.

Approximately an hour into proceedings, Europe will be buzzing with anticipation when its 53 teams are divided into nine qualifying groups, before the evening rounds off with the draw for the African Zone, where 48 teams will be placed into 12 groups of four teams.


For more informationAfrica Draw Format

Source: FIFA