Soccer News Fri, 13 Jan 2006

Ghana names CAN team

... Essien, Muntari, Gyan out
Ghana has finally presented its final squad for the African Cup of Nations beating CAF?s Friday deadline that would have seen the Black Stars team reduced to 20.

According to the Confederation of African Football?s rules, Ghana will pay a $3000 fine for the delay after missing out of Tuesday?s first deadline for the submission of team lists.

The rules of the competition further states that if Ghana fails to send its complete list of players by the 13th January, it will have the right to the registration of only 20 players.

Black Stars coach, Ratomir Dujkovic submitted his 23-man squad yesterday minus Chelsea midfielder, Michael Essien.

Essien on Wednesday returned to training with his Chelsea teammates much earlier than expected and was tipped to join the Stars in the course of the competition.


Dujkovic has had to make some changes to his squad following injuries to midfielders to midfielders, Michael Essien, Sulley Muntari and Asamoah Gyan.

He also refused to name a replacement for injured striker, Asamoah Gyan.

Asamoah Gyan picked up an injury during the team?s training session last week.

?When the Stars qualified for the World Cup we played like a team, and that is very important, so I don?t think we?ll miss any player in Egypt,? Dujkovic said.

Ghana would be seeking to win a historic fifth CAN title


The Black Stars are scheduled to play the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia on January 15.

They will move to Cairo on 17th January for the Nations Cup.

The African Cup of Nations begins on January 20 and ends on 10 February.

Full Squad:



Sammy Adjei (Mohadon Sports Ashdod, Israel), George Owu (AshantiGold, Ghana), Philemon McCarthy (Fetteh Feyenoord, Ghana)


Addoquaye Pappoe (Ashdod Tel-Aviv, Israel) John Painstil (Ashdod Tel-Aviv, Israel) John Mensah (Cremonese, Italy) Issa Ahmed (Asante Kotoko, Ghana) Aziz Ansah (Asante Kotoko, Ghana) and Dan Edusei (Egaleo, Greece) Sammy Osei Kuffour (AS Roma, Italy) Francis Dickoh (Nordsjaelland fc, Denmark) and Hans Adu Sarpei ( Wolfsburg, Germany)


Stephen Appiah (Fenerbache, Turkey) Haminu Dramani (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia & Montenegro) Hamza Mohammed(Real Tamale United, Ghana) Abubakari Yakubu (Vitesse Arnheim, Holland) Laryea Kingston (Terek Gronzy, Russia) and Baba Armando (Krylia Sovetov, Russia)


Godwin Attram (Al Shabab, Saudi Arabia) Joe Tex Frimpong (Enyimba, Nigeria) and Matthew Amoah (Borrusia Dortmund, Germany), Prince Tagoe (Accra Hearts of Oak) and Louis Agyemang (Kaiser Chiefs, South Africa).

Source: --