Gyan makes Caf final three-man shortlist

Sun, 12 Dec 2010 Source: Ghana Celebrities

Asamoah Gyan has made the final three-man shortlist for the CAF African Player of Year Award.

This was after Africa's governing body, CAF, reduced the final shortlist to three men from the five who were initially named for the award.

The Ghana and Sunderland striker would now have to beat off competition from strikers Didier Drogba and Samuel Eto'o for the top award in African football for the Year 2010 in Cairo on December 20.

According to Caf, for the topmost awards, Player of the Year 2010 and African-based Player of the Year 2010, the respective winners would be decided by votes from the respective senior national teams' Head Coaches or Technical Director of the 53 National Associations affiliated to CAF taking into consideration the performance during the year under review, from January 2010 to November 2010.

Ghana has four representations out of the eight major award categories for the 2010 Confederation of African Football (CAF) Awards.

Kwadwo Asamoah is in the running for the most promising player with the Black Stars nominated for the national team award.

Ex-Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac has been selected for the coach of the year prize.

Other Presidential Awards will also be given during the ceremony.

Player of the Year

a) Didier Drogba

b) Samuel Eto'o Fils

c) Asamoah Gyan

African-based Player of the Year

a) Alain Dioko

b) Mohamed Nagui Gedo

c) Ahmed Hassan

Most Promising Talent of the Year

a) Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese and Ghana)

b) Ryad Boudebouz (Sochaux and Algeria)

c) Moussa Maazou (Bordeaux and Niger)

Women's Footballer of the Year

a) Stella Mbachu (Nigeria)

b) Perpetua Nkwocha (Sunnana SK and Nigeria)

c) Ebere Orji (Nigeria U-20)

Club of the Year

a) CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)

b) FUS Rabat (Morocco)

c) TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

National team of the Year

a) Algeria

b) Egypt

c) Ghana

Women's National team of the Year

a) Equatorial Guinea

b) Nigeria senior team

c) Nigeria U-20 women

Coach of the Year

a) LamineN'Diaye (TP Mazembe)

b) Milovan Rajevac – (Former Ghana Coach)

c) Hassan Shehata (Egypt)

Source: Ghana Celebrities

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.