Tanzania names squad for Stars clash

Thu, 14 Aug 2008 Source: GNA

Accra, Aug. 14, GNA - Tanzanian coach Marcio Maximo has announced a 23- man squad which will take on Ghana's Black Stars in an international friendly scheduled for August 20 in Dar es Salaam.

Reports gathered by GNA Sports from a Tanzanian Sports daily, The Daily News reports that talisman Abdi Kassim, Emmanuel Gabriel, Ulimboka Mwakingwe and Danny Mrwanda were left out of the squad.

Mrwanda was left out of the Taifa Stars squad because he is a professional player and will not be of help to Maximo since he will be preparing for their clash against Sudan in the final rounds of the African Nation Championship (CHAN), a competition reserved for footballers playing in the domestic leagues of their respective countries.

The new entrants in the team include Simba's Jabir Aziz, Adam Kingwade, Amani Simba and Hassan Mgosi whose call was motivated by his impressive output during the recent Kagame Cup. The Brazilian trainer said his selection is based on the performance of the players, discipline and age as he included seven members of the national U-17 squad whom he said are to be giving the needed exposure and experience.

The team begins a six-day camping on Thursday, August 14 for the clash with the West Africa giants.

The Taifa Stars occupy the third spot of Group One of the joint 2010 World Cup/Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers with two points behind Cameroon and Cape Verde on 10 and nine points respectively after four games. The Taifa Stars have no chance of qualifying for both competitions.

Full Squad: Goalkeepers: Ivo Mapunda (Young Africans), Farouk Ramadhani (Miembeni) and Simba Aman (Simba).

Defenders: Shadrack Nsajigwa, Amir Maftah, Fred Mbuna, Nadir Haroub (Yanga), Juma Jabu, Kelvin Yondani, Meshack Abel (Simba) and Salum Swed (Mtibwa Sugar).

Midfielders: Henry Joseph, Jabir Aziz, Adam Kingwande (Simba), Athuman Iddi, Godfrey Boniface and Kigi Makasi (Yanga), Shaaban Nditi (Mtibwa) and Nizar Khalfan (Moro United).

Strikers: Mussa Hassan, Uhuru Suleiman (Simba), Jerry Tegete and Mrisho Ngasa (Yanga).

Source: GNA